Gothic Architecture

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This is something that many people are split about: Gothic architecture. Some people like it, some people can't stand it. Personally. I like it every once in a while. In Germany we have a lot of these churches, but I recon that outside of Europe not too many have seen them. So therefore I wanted to share these few images with you.

It isn't in particular a famous church and it also isn't particularly large. However, it is in my backyard and therefore I could manage to capture these images. The day was rather cloudy and I had to wait for the sun to shine through the thick layer of clouds. Which reminds me of a poem I wrote some years back:

Awoken from a rainy night
The sun still slumbers but it just might
Come bustling through a thick gray hide

And that's exactly what happened:

Here I am standing near a window from where the sun shone through the opposite side, giving this colored glass a radiant appearance.

It was a bit hard to capture the church from afar, so instead I made this picture. I didn't want to capture any modern buildings or cars which was a bit hard, as the church is located right in the center of my city.

What do you think of this kind of architecture? Do you like it or do you rather prefer a simpler style? Or perhaps you don't like them for their religious context...

I wish you Steemians a happy Sunday afternoon!

Sort:  

It looks like paradise)))

really?! Tell me more, you think that paradise looks like this? ;)

Gothic paradise)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58015.02
ETH 2381.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42