LIZARD and me (how I found the ground skink)

in #photography7 years ago

So funny story, I have actually been considering spending $20-30 on a lizard to keep as a pet and to help me practice my photography skills without exploiting my children every turn. And then the craziest thing happens. While I am searching online for a small-easy to care for-lizard, one runs over my toes!!

Sometimes God likes to give us what we want!!!
So here we are, meet my new best friend!! He is super chill, likes to stare out of his container and play the statue game!!

I just love his shiny blue tail!!

Here he looks like he's about to tell me all of his master plan!!
TIME FOR A CLOSE UP!!

I waited until the boy got home from school and we took our new friend out to the garden in hopes that he would like it and decide to stay.

"when the world turns it's back on you, you turn your back on the world." -timon 'the lion king'

I was saving this for a combination contest, but I always forget my proof pictures. You know what I never forget? exclamation marks see:!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I overuse this punctuation and it nullifies the excitement I truly feel.
MAYBE I'LL START SCREAMING MY SENTENCES FOR EXCITEMENT PURPOSES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I would love to hear about some of your "good luck" stories or about finding lizards in your toes, haha. I have realized I don't leave my blogs open ended and that kind of gives a sense of finality that discourages commenting. I really enjoy all of you and your thought-provoking conversation. Please feel free to comment and engage our conversations!! It may take me 27 hours to respond but it's like having a birthday card in the mailbox, opening replies from my steemers!! Hope you all have a wonderful day and thanks for checking out our newest gardener!!

Sort:  

He's so cute! How lucky you were! Did your boy give him a name yet? Or did you let it go in the garden?

He did! I forgot it though and he isn't here to ask... I'll update later. We decided it would be best to leave him in the garden because he wasn't eating the dead bugs I had brought him. I imagine they are more of a live kill kind of animal. And I will not catch crickets!!! I'm terrified they will jump into my eyeballs.

You are so brave! For some reason, I'm terribly afraid of lizards. Lol! I'm working on this, but every time I see one, it races away from me!

haha I didn't actually touch this guy (besides my toes), he is too quick for me! Thankfully he was nice enough to pose for the pictures. I wouldn't call me brave. I'm alright if it's slow and has legs, but otherwise I would pee my pants and run away crying!!

Lol! Well, this photo makes you LOOK brave, and that's admirable, too! :) I'm a "run away" kind of girl, as well. I'm trying to become more brave, but with some of the creatures... it just isn't happening!

RIGHT!! some things are just too creepy!!

How cool you were able to get pictures of him! A few months back Alex was looking through her bedroom window and spotted one outside. She said, "mom, a lizard! A lizard!" I kind of didn't believe her but she talked me into going out to look. Sure enough, there he was (there was actually two of them)! I tried snapping a quick pic but he left before I could pull the camera up.
And I love your use of exclamation marks! I feel I use them for everything too!! Lol

She's got good eyes!! I hate when I can't get the camera app up quick enough. It's usually when we are driving and see something. I'm not too quick to come running to check out my son's discoveries either. Most of the time he confuses things like a gnat to a flea. They are similar but different qualities. One bites, one just hangs around the fruit. He's always seeing something spectacular though, "you gotta see this mom"

I think she was on the lookout, since about a week before that, there was actually one in her room!
Haha, that sounds just like both of my kiddos. Roman will come up in the most serious voice, "mom, you got to come check this out"

yes a very serious voice!!

Nice timing!!! I saw a little one out on our porch not too long ago. I used to love catching blue tailed skinks when I was a kid!

You are brave! I had to put glass on top of it and then scoop it up with paper!!

Either your lizard is very tiny, or that is a very big watermelon!

The watermelon is HUGE! It was the only fruit on the vine that actually grew and I think it sucked the life from the plant. Hoping it's a good one.

Oh well, what more can we expect from one tiny seed! Quite an accomplishment if you think about it. 😀

Oh I am thrilled, I would rather have one good ripened melon then 17 small ones that will never ripen fully. that was last years mess, they grew up the fence line and started bogging down the wire. Had to use them for target practice, which was very enjoyble!!

Ha..target practice. I love it. A true homesteading attitude....nothing goes to waste!

We try anyhow!! surprised we didn't have some volunteers in the neighbors field this year lol

I like exclamation marks!!! I try to limit it to three!!! But sometimes I get too excited, too!!!

No way!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Not possible!!!!!!!!!!!!!! haha I had considered using a different symbols for my excitement but then I stumbled into some coding stuff and was making things look very strange. lol

Congratulations @tiredmama! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Cool @tiredmama
We have these little guys and geckos here. The geckos eat bugs and stuff (read cockroaches) from the walls and ceiling while the skinks (like your dude) are more on the ground.

Maybe I should have left him in the house :) Good to know what they eat, now I might be able to feed the next one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59292.67
ETH 2590.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47