Monarch Butterfly in Missouri

in #photography7 years ago

The Monarch Butterflies have been in Missouri as of late. Springfield MO has planted a bunch of milkweed and other native flowers along one of it's drainages. The results have been a very healthy insect population. I like to walk my dog next to it and listen to them all sing.
IMG_0395.JPG

The small yellow bugs I think are some sort of Aphids. They devoured the flowers on most of the plants. I was worried but it looks like they left the leaves for the caterpillars.

IMG_0362.JPG

Some were becoming cocoons!
IMG_0384.JPG
Here's another butterfly
Thanks for stopping by! Pictures were taken with IPhone 7 Plus. Here's another butterfly.
IMG_0358.JPG

Sort:  

I think it's wonderful that the city of Springfield is planting milkweed to encourage the Monarch Butterflies. I wonder if this was a government program or a private group? Or maybe a partnership?

I think a partnership. They passed a tax but there are also many volunteer groups.

Beautiful photos! I believe it's almost time for the monarchs to migrate to Mexico :) Very cool that Springfield has been planting to increase the insect population!

Thank you! I think so as well. I'm excited to go look for their cocoons!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61191.20
ETH 2972.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48