TimTravels - Berlin, Capital of Germany Part 2

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Welcome back my Steemian friends to the second part of my Berlin journey!

Today I left Berlin and spent the last day as always taking pictures, speaking with locals and searching for the best restaurant in town. Well, I was unlucky enough to forget the time and left Berlin without having dinner at all. Taking pictures takes time! Enjoy the second part of my Berlin trip through my lens.

The following pictures were taken in Berlins government district. Here you can see the Reichstagsgebaeude where you will find the Deutscher Bundestag as well as the Band des Bundes where you can find the Bundeskanzleramt





Look at that beauty!










A very magnificent place with incredible architecture. Perhaps one of the cleanest areas in Berlin. From there I took the bike to visit the old border that divided Berlin into an eastern and western part.

Some of you asked me what camera and lens I use. I took all the pictures with my Nikon D750 and the lens you will see below. Furthermore I used a 50mm f/1.4 lens to take the picture of the other lens.




This is the old border which divided Berlin. It's quite a sad story because many people lost their lives at this place. If you tried to cross the border without permission they shot you. It was also called the Todesstreifen (death strip). Luckily these times are over and today there is a memorial in commemoration of the victims.








Berlin itself is like a huge history book. Wherever you go you will encounter historic sites. I personally like this since we never should forget the past. The key to the future lies in the past and we should never repeat the mistakes we did.

Thanks for following me on my journey and see the world through my lens. Soon I will travel to Sweden and Greece. There is a little surprise for you. The first one to guess correctly what I got will receive 10 Steem Dollars. Feel free to leave a comment and tell me where your last travel destination was and how you liked this post.

Steem on!
Tim

Sort:  

On the eleventh attempt I finally pronounced Reichstagsgebaeude correctly lol.
Hope Greece and Sweden will improve your mood a little bit after thinking about tragical events of the past.

I would love to hear that! :D

I didn't even think about that. I'm sure at some point out and about you tend to try and visualize what happened there. Definitely tragic. Never again.

I hope that the rest of Europe also won't forget the past. The destruction of Europe by the Germans. Not all countries had the privilege to rebuilt what was lost during world war 2

Some great pictures of Belin, especially of the fantastic architecture. I have visited Berlin several times, although not in the past ten years. Its a great place to visit.

my last travel was to salou in spain. You can go to clubs there at night and during the day feast on buffet and recover on the beach. I am not quite sure what we have to guess here for the 10 steem? can you give more info?

@timsaid you are the best steemian ever :)

Never been in Geramny, looks fantastic!

It's about time!

Wunderschön! Ich muss jetzt unbedingt mal hin!
Beautiful - Have to go there soon!

Mach schöne Bilder

Nice please vote me

Berlin looks really beautiful ! I wish I went there. I was at Germany for a whole month but didn't get the chance to visit Berlin. I went there for working purposes so couldn't really do any tourism.

What cities did you visit trendo? I think you said it in the first post. Anyways, come back!

I was living in Stuttgart. I also went to another city for 2 days to celebrate my friends birthday but I just can't seem to remember the name of the city :D

Those are some nice clicks.

Wow Germany looks absolutely beautiful. Did you graffiti your Steemit URL onto the Berlin Wall?

lol! I don't do such things it's unter preservation of sites of historic interest :D

How I wish people stop doing that to any historical site. Writing your name doesn't make you anything 😒😒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01