Varanasi Cremation Fires - Ganges (original cinemagraph)

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Ritual cremations are an ongoing process in Varanasi 24/7. There are two methods for cremation. Traditional cremation done along the ghats on the Ganges river using pyres of different heights relating to ones financial status generally. More wood under you costs more and ensures a more complete cremation as the dogs do come around looking for scraps. Most cannot afford such luxury and the second choice is to be cremated in the electric crematorium (note the dual stacks on the building on the left).

After a very long night, the sadhus and naga babas finally took a break around 8am from their rituals involving noise and a a presumed meditation practice of constantly ringing a bronze bell while keeping his head inside it. The guest house I stayed in was to the right of the crematorium.

The morning after these fires had run their course. Dogs and birds roam about on the edge of the ghat steps and beach areas looking for tidbits. The ashes and all are pushed into the river assuring rapid ascension for the deceased as Varanasi is the holiest city in India. For those that cannot afford to be cremated in some way end up in the river as human flotsam. So with that in mind, know that there is much more to Varanasi than cremations and death, nonetheless, I'm certain you can tell that it is not a vacation destination in the traditional sense.


(you decide... b/c I'm not sure)

It is frowned upon to photograph these cremations up close and do keep this in mind if you visit. Nonetheless, you will see unrelated people or tourists snapping photos, but that doesn't make it acceptable. Worse still would be posting those photographs.

These images are making their debut here. Thank you Steemit for giving me inspiration to share my work.
be well, Conrad (@timelapse)

(I've placed a referral link on my site: http://conradolivier.com - see the steemit link)

#photography #travel #india #backpacking

Sort:  

WOW! This is some great work! Glad to see this and will check out your posts posts.

Glad to know it - thanks for the kind words! @thephotographer - I'll check your work as well.

I'm really loving your cinemagraphs. Keep them coming! Great original content.

appreciate your help getting these seen being an early voter! Will do.

No worries! Followed :-)

Wonderful photos, thank you for sharing. I hope to visit India someday. Upvoted!

Can you talk about your camera spec?

Sure - believe it or not these were taken with the now humble Canon 30D and the flotsam image with the Canon 70-200mm f2.8L IS USM as Raw files. Always spend your $$$ on glass before camera bodies though that body was prosumer at the time. The crematation/crematorium shots were taken with the Canon 24-70mm f2.8L USM lens. Post processing for stills involved LR & the now free NIK Color Efex Pro (google bought them out). Thank you for asking & hope that helps.

Yes, it does help. Thanks for a concise reply.

Varanasi is really like no place on Earth. It's one of the filthiest places, but also, one of the most beautiful.

The movie "Masaan" captures this location really well -

I was expecting a timelapse though ;)

I'll see what I can conjure up and post something in that genre! Yes, I brought waders in case I would be in the river as I had read about the stats and as a non-believer I would be at risk! Yes, w/o a doubt one of the most magical places I've been to... watching the kite flying in the evening to the cow paddy making by day, Benares is something just have to witness personally. Where else do you see towers of firewood as tall as 3 story buildings?

Burning ghats are common across India, but yes, nothing like Benares. :)

Thanks for sharing. Fantastic work!

I look forward to the day I can wash my karma clean in the pristine waters of the Ganges at Varanasi ;-)

the same why I I really love Your cinemagraphs.

i have yet to be to varanasi on my two trips to india
i bet it will be one of my places to visit on the next trip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29