Street Artist Progression Series - detour303

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Thomas Evans aka detour303

completed his mural somewhere in between 4 and 5 days in the RINO district (North Denver). Colorado Crush sponsored several of the street artists and provided them with various types of lifts and paint. While some received these 'perks', many artists contributed their works and materials without assistance from the organizer.


A lot of mystery and wonder surrounds the topic of remuneration among the artists I spoke to, but did not discuss this or the aforementioned with Thomas.

The red was really poppin' when I emerged out of the alley to see his progress. You just don't see that much red anywhere these days unless it's Chinese New Year.


Graciously discussing his work on Saturday afternoon with some of the MANY who came down to check out the end results. Many artists were still just in the early stages or even beginning their works.


It was a long, but interesting week for me as I began documenting as many murals/artists as I could from Saturday the 10th of September until Saturday the 17th. I didn't head down today as I suspect there were even MORE people than yesterday.

(crowds from Saturday)
be well, Conrad ( @timelapse )

(verification link on my site: http://conradolivier.com)

#photography #streetart #coloradocrush16 #graffiti #art

Sort:  

That area you worked in reminds me a lot of a street somewhere in central-western Amsterdam, oh yes, it was near a place me and some of my homeless buddies used to find refuge from the police patrols.

Beautiful work. I love street art, and I can never get enough of it. We are blessed with a number of really good artists here in Sofia, Bulgaria, as well.

Indeed and thank you. Being in a city where it's appreciated and prevalent is a blessing.

About two alleys north, there was a group of about 6 homeless persons structures that were wrecked about three days before the event... then there was debris scattered in the alley and a day later it was all tidy (for the most part) and there were only 2 or 3 guys there. I suspect the city came through to polish things up before the event. The camaraderie amongst the artists is really interesting to witness as well.

urgh. this wreck their crappy little shacks thing grinds my gears. so weak and lame. big people with money, stepping all over the weak.

anyway, i am glad it went well for you. the art is more important than urban planning.

Looks like a self portrait. The guys good. I think my favorite was the rabbit riding the turtle. That mural was killer.

I wish San Diego had a bigger art scene. I did meet some guys at Comic Con back in the day, Frank Kozik, Joe Ledbetter, Luke Chueh. I use to sell their designer vinyl on a website I use to run. They weren't friends but it was cool meeting the artist behind the art. Actually Frank Kozik was a dick. Anyways, you are in the mecca: art, food, landscape etc... Looking forward to more.

Yeah perhaps so! He was wearing a shirt with the wording "Be A Good Person". The turtle image is over the top for sure. You have all sorts of good things in and around San Diego too - guessing the arts are more pretentious by now? All of these guys/gals were friendly and relaxed - happy to chat a bit about their work - from all over the world as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82