An Albatross and a Penguin sharing a nesting colony, Falkland Islands

I am in love with the Falkland Islands after I recently spent time exploring a few of the Islands and walking around a few nesting colonies of some bird species. One place in particular was where the Black-Browed and rockhopper penguins, which actually share an area to nest on a cliff face.


But why do they do this?


Well, it appears it is quite a happy and useful partnership due help reduce the chances of predation from Skuas, whom thoroughly enjoy to eat eggs and chicks at nesting colonies around the Antarctic and sub-antarctic bird nesting colonies. As you can notice from the photo the Albatross and evening spread out amongst themselves and the Rockhoppers kind of fill in the extra space, which basically leaves little to no room for potential predators to steal any eggs or chicks.


IMG_0321-1.jpg
Click image to view full size


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

Very serendipitous and symbiotic, I'd say. Don't hear too much about the Falklands.

That you do not! But you are a bird lover than it should be very high on your list to come explore

In my opinion, photographing delights the human soul. Your photo was great.thanks for sharing this post.
Please see my pictures, you'll like it.

thanks! I m happy you liked the photo and post. I do my best to post daily whilst I am on expedition throughout the southern ocean and antarctica but at times the internet isn't the greatest. surprise surprise. thanks, I will check them out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58510.90
ETH 2522.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36