Why Waking Up Early Can Benefit Your PhotographysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago

Simply put...you're gonna see some awesome shit.

HP3_9549.jpg

I follow all of these guys on Instagram that are constantly posting these amazing macro shots of bugs and things that are just so perfectly amazing. What is their secret?

They get up early!

HP3_9498.jpg

So why does waking up early benefit my photography? Well, at least in the realm of photographing bugs and things outside, this is what I have learned.

Bugs are literally just slower in the morning. I haven't done the research to tell you scientifically why this is the case but let's just go with they are because they're tired and probably didn't get a good nights sleep wondering if something was going to eat them. That and when they wake up covered in dew...well I know I'm slower when I'm covered in water.

That being said, there is an extra level of drama due to the dew. That little bit of moisture adds a nice element to the photography of such tiny critters that just isn't there in the middle of the day. And trust me, it doesn't work to spray them with a hose.

HP3_9315.jpg

Also, there's something to be said about morning light. It's soft, it's warm, it's sexy, and it really makes things look beautiful. I may have gone out with my light wand to add a little fill to situations because while it is all of those previous things, one thing it is not...is strong. It can be a bit week and it's nice to have a little additional help.

HP3_9336.jpg

So the next time your alarm goes off and it's ridiculously early, or you've accidentally waken up at the crack of dawn...don't go back to bed. Grab whatever camera you may have, get outside even if it's colder than you want it to be, and go track down some small stuff. Heck, even look for big picture stuff, everything looks pretty cool by sunrise. I just happened to luck out with the tiny guys today. Thanks for tuning in!

It's still a work in progress but this year was the year of me turning myself into not just a wedding photographer, but a travel photographer and blogger. So check out what I've done in that realm at www.thespurtrail.com and let me know what you think.

HP3_9417.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28