Starry Night - Photo Collection

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Greetings fellow Steemers,

Here are a few shots I took while experimenting with long exposures. I took them in a remote part of Eastern Serbia early last fall. I took these shots on my Nikon D3200 with the kit lens set at 18mm for maximum star capture. I really wanted to show just how many stars were visible in this amazing stretch of sky.

Starry-night.jpg

This first image captures a strip of sky cutting through the canopy of a plum tree and a walnut tree. I shot it at 1600 iso, which is a bit on the high side, but the distortion isn't too bad and the green on the leaves really popped at this setting. I also set the shutter to 20 seconds for maximum starry goodness, which gave the stars time to shift a little and created some minor trails, but that's no big deal.

Starry-night-1.jpg

This second shot has just the walnut tree and a large amount of stars off to the side. This time, I achieved slightly less distortion in the stars while maintaining good color and star density. That streak at the bottom is a plane. There is a huge amount of air traffic in the area. I would see three to five aircraft cutting across the sky at any giving time.

I love these two shots. I spent about a week out in the hills of Serbia experimenting with night sky shots and these two images capture the tranquility and awe-inspiring quality of the night sky out in this remote sector for the world.

It's just beautiful and I loved every second of this experience.

Sort:  

Congratulations @thenomad! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56989.27
ETH 2425.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39