Adventures in Rio de Janeiro

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Rio de Janeiro is a very special city. 🇧🇷 Rich and poor live almost side by side and in the summer it can get really hot. ☀️🌡Well, not only in the summer. Actually it is hot there all year around.

It's a stunning metropolis and there are a lot of great places to visit - like the Sugarloaf Mountain, the famous Jesus statue or the Escalera de Selarón. One thing I always wanted to do is to visit one of the Favelas. These are the very crowded areas where the poor and middle class lives.

IMG_1949-Bearbeitet.jpg

So in April this year, I was lucky and had a chance to stay a week in Rio and not only that - I stayed in a small Airbnb in one of the more secure Favelas. I didn't had to fear for my life though people on the streets warned me to take care of my belongings.

It was more of a middle class Favela. At this time, it was incredibly hot. Around 38 degrees Celsius during the day and never less than 28 degrees in the night. So it was a very welcome relieve when one evening, a big thunderstorm raised up. ⛈

First, it became really really windy. Then, out of nowhere, these giant clouds showed up with an enormous speed. It became darker and darker from minute to minute. I ran outside of my little apartment and went to the balcony of the small complex next door.

IMG_1921-Bearbeitet.jpg

I just could hope that nobody got the same Idea as I because the balcony was shared by multiple apartments.🙈 I quickly undressed and watched that beautiful nature spectacle while taking these awesome pictures. The semi cold breeze felt wonderful on my almost naked body.💨 It was so refreshing, so wonderful, so necessary after days of extremly hot and humid weather.

Soon it started to rain but I didn't want to go inside. I just laid there in the warm rain, watching the Favela right below me. I wondered if anybody saw me and if so, what would they think of me? Not that I would care, I'm just curious what a person would thing of a naked woman standing in the rain on the rooftop of a Favela in Rio...🤔

IMG_1940_HDR-Bearbeitet.jpg

Sort:  

Well done post thanks for sharing @thenakedtraveler

great content! It was a great idea to follow you! Followed, upvoted - you truly deserve it! @thenakedtraveler

really lovely photos..very interesting journey..!! @thenakedtraveler

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66945.54
ETH 3515.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71