Rhodes Memorial 1912 - In memory of Cecil John Rhodes

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Cecil John Rhodes, mining magnate, statesman and benefactor died at Muizenberg on March 26 1902 at the tender age of 49.

Imgur
Horseman shading his eyes from the rising sun

Rhodes Memorial is a stately attraction which is built on the eastern slope of Table Mountain where Rhodes was said to go to contemplate his future. This memorial temple is hewn from granite quarried above the city and was built to the designs of architect Herbert Baker.


Memorial to CJR - architect Sir Herbert Baker


Cecil John Rhodes
Image Credit

Bakers temple forms, specifically the tuscan columns and seated lions were inspired by places Rhodes had sent him to in 1900 in particular Paestum(Italy) and Agrigentum (Sicily). There are 49 steps , one for each year of his life and

Imgur

The inscription on the monument reads “To the spirit and life work of Cecil John Rhodes who loved and served South Africa”

Imgur
View from the top of the Stairs

Imgur
Note the drone (circled) … it is my plan to do Dtube vlogs about landmarks and famous places in South Africa. This was a test run not terribly successful as the wind was very strong

It is really a beautiful piece of countryside … below are some of the views accessible from the memorial

Imgur
The black square is the Atlantic Ocean in an area known as Bloubergstrand

Imgur
Behind and to the side of the memorial is (I think) Nursery Ravine, hopefully an astute South African can correct me if I am wrong. The path up that ravine leads to Devils Peak

Hopefully I will be doing my first Dtube VLOG on this area in the not too distant future.

As always, thanks for reading and the support.

Sort:  

Wowww Excellent photography and always be happy..

Thanks for all your arduous work, here's a bunch of token of appreciation!

Thanks...your response is appreciated. What did u think of the article?

Upvoted and resteemed. South Africa, my home, my land of birth, the most beautiful of all countries.

Thanks, and I agree beautiful and diverse...and I forgot to put #teamsouthafrica on my tags {sulk}

great historical posts and beautiful photos @themagus. success for you guys

Terrific photography and informative article, @themagus. Thanks for sharing. I
notice you didn't mention anything about controversies in this country over monuments....😊😊

Thanks for reading .... I am sooooooooooooooooooooooo tired by the small minds that I will not ever considerdebating, giving credence or even acknowledging their presence.

A pleasure. It was most interesting. And I understand....

Excellent photography

@themagus What a wonderful and heartwarming Tale. Upvoted.
This requires a little bit more the perfect time to Imagine around. Awesome you convey it from another angle. Mhhh not really easy... and it absolutely was now Quite challenging. Many thanks for let's Imagine.

@themagus Thank you for the function, I invite you to evaluate my function. Followed.
Thank you for obtaining this out. Followed.

Congratulations @themagus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@themagus I've resteemed this and also given it every type of upvote I currently know how to give. Hopefully you'll forgive me for not responding to your welcome before. I'm a novice at all this. :)

hahaha .... that was not neccesary, but appreciated. Did you check out DTUBE for another repository for your videos? I will do a Welcome @tantacru1 tonight or Sunday ... see if we can drive some followers here. Without followers you do not get seen... and I believe your stuff is good enough that it should be seen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57400.65
ETH 3108.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42