Out and About - Paarl RocksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

Sunday 21 May my lady and I took her niece on a photographic journey to Paarl Rock. Despite the fact that it is just about on our doorstep I had never bothered to visit the area.

I mean..how exciting does a 'rock' sound?

20170521_114551.jpg
Approaching the 'lesser' boulders.... belies what awaits

Definition of pluton
: a typically large body of intrusive igneous rock

The Paarl pluton covers an oval area of about 50 kilometres (approximately 30 miles) comprising mainly slate and impure quartzite. The pluton consists of several discrete granite bodies of impressive size and stature as my sore body can attest to having climbed all over them.

20170521_114619.jpg
I was in awe of this boulder until my gal told me this is the baby one. From the top the views were impressive

The coarse porphyritic granite with it's large crystals of pale reddish feldspar was emplaced 530 million years ago after intrusion of the medium grained, but before the fine-grained granite. Reaction with slaty wall rocks produced the hybrid granite.

horizon.jpg
A view from the top

Originally embedded at 5-10 km depth , the pluton was laid bare by erosion over a long period and sculptured into domes by spalling of curved rock slabs owing to pressure relief

20170521_123824.jpg
Pretty high up on a solid boulder of granite

20170521_122508.jpg
Preparing to walk up the main boulder

20170521_122524.jpg
And away they go..... leaving me behind

20170521_123008.jpg
Very steep climb...but the chains are mainly for coming down

meontop.jpg
At the top, looking more relaxed than my tired legs felt

Note the weather .... this is two weeks away from the start of our winter. The temperature was a toasty 90 degrees Fahrenheit

After making our way down from the top we took the walkway down to the base of the main boulder

20170521_125036.jpg

I have two other photo's of this trip which I want to use for the Steemit photo challenge hosted by that good man @jamtaylor.

As always , thank you for reading and engaging.

Sort:  

Great landscape pictures. I love it. Upvote and resteemed. Greets from Germany

Thanks for the complimentary response. Warm greetings from sunny warm South Africa {goes to look at @germanlifestyle blog} ... I like your content...followed you.

With pleasure..thank you @themagus .I Follow too.greets

Wow! Amazingly beautiful work! Thank you for sharing!

Thank you @olga.maslievich for the kind words

It looks amazing, and a nice day out!

Unfortunately the day ended like this ...grrrr...and I was so looking forward to a cold beer and a nice lunch at the Taal Monument

20170521_151109.jpg

Oh no, that's really horrible!

Looks beautiful, Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for taking the time to read and respond. Interesting name you have there @dogfried {smile}

It stems from the gamertag i created over 15 years ago for xbox live. My nick name is dog and i wanted something original but funny (at least reflects my sense of humor) and come up with Dogfriedrice.It just stuck as an online alias, Some are offened by it though.

I reckon is a cool monniker... why on earth would anyone be offended?? Intolerance is such a bane ...

I have no idea. I was forced to change it only last year by microsoft due to it being "offencive". Being the rebel that I am it was changed to Dogfooyoung.
No message off microsoft yet :).

Sjoe, dis nog mooier as die monument!!! Die Kaap is beslis op my "bucket list", soveel plekke om te sien :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66391.72
ETH 3189.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60