Exploring Long Street in Cape Town, South Africa

in #photography8 years ago

As most know, South Africa became a true democracy in 1994 when the entire population of South Africa were granted the right to vote. On Long Street, just outside our hotel, there is a house facade which is symbolic of FREEDOM, FREE SPEECH and DIALOGUE (my words)


and the girls having their say ….

Some views along the street. There are a number of mixed architectures some dating back to the 17th Century.

We browsed a few shops, this being an African art and curio shop.

This was thirsty work so we headed to the beer shop.

Suitably refreshed, we headed back to the hotel to get ready to go out. Town was starting to buzz !

High jinks in our hotel room before getting ready {smile}

Next episode will be a little bit of dinner, and then some Lions Head Nature shots.

Sort:  

I enjoyed learning more about Cape Town. I especially liked seeing photos of arts and crafts and the older buildings. Some of the latter reminded me of New Orleans, USA and Granada, Nicaragua.

Thanks for the feedback @steemerpat, apologies only saw your comment now ... my bad !!

No worries. I just discovered something last night: try going to steemd.com/@themagus instead of steemit.com/@themagus. I think you'll find it's much easier to spot new replies that way. It's another part of the blockchain. I learned so much reading this article. Check it out.

I upvote U

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44