A Misty Morning - Sunrise

in #photography7 years ago

On a bitterly cold morning the upside was crispy air and hazy mist made for nice photography opportunity.... pity the fingers were so cold I could hardly click

treemist.jpg
I think this tree is falling over

sunrise.jpg
Sun through the mist

sunrise2.jpg
Zoomed in...did not work so well

sunriseandfield.jpg
Just some contrasts

Thanks for checking my photographs out!!

Sort:  

Wow great picture brother! What camera did you use to take these? I'm curious :) Either way, good content, keep on keeping on @TheMagus!

I gave an up vote! :)

That was just on a Samsung S7 ..thank heavens as all I had to say was 'cheese' and it took the photo's...my fingers were frozen.

Haha nice! And yeah a decent phone camera can really come in handy with regards to weather conditions! I have the Samsung S6, and even that camera is still great :)

Besides the fact that it's not even about the quality of the camera anymore. Like pretty much an iPhone from 5S and up (and Samsung) can take amazing quality photos. It's more about the lighting :)

Are you also from Cape Town, South Africa? I am actually in Durbanville haha!

I am just down the road in Kraaifontein, and most of those photo's are taken in the open land next to the waterworks in Okavango Road (opposite Pinehurst)

No ways! I am living in Vredekloof. About 2km from Pinehurst

just about neighbours ...I work in brackenfell...

Awesome pics. Atmosphereics (that's what I call it) like mist, fog or rain can add so much drama to a photograph. Gives a dreamlike effect. Tony Northrup recommends having a "fog plan". You never know when you are going to have the bad weather that makes for great pictures. Have someplace in mind that you think might look cool in fog, etc. So many times, I have gone out to shoot and just had perfect blue sky. Thinking oh if I just had a few clouds... I shot a timelapse of John's Pass Bridge last year and had perfect weather. The main thing is to get out and shoot.

Thanks... I agree with you..the hardest conditions to get a decent photo are clear sunny day. No contrasts, no shadows...

Of course it's best to go out at golden hour or blue hour when the light from a sunset/sundown gives direction and color. I took a photo of downtown St Petersburg Florida a few years ago. Shooting west into the sunset. No clouds at all. So I positioned my self so the sun was behind a building and used a graduated filter to bring down the sky. I kept going until after the sunset and got the city lights and blue in the twilight sky in the background.

Yes, but it sounds like you know what you are doing {smile} .... I a novice but having fun, thanks to Steemit. Forces me to think about colors and textures etc. Earlier I was playing around with trying a 'minimalist' photo ... far more difficult than appears. I will post it sometime later...'Winnie the Poo' will be the title

I am just beginning too. But that is how it works. Continuously learning. Going out and trying things. See how it works and think about what you could do better. When it comes to landscape photos you only have control of a few factors. The light and weather that gives that extra drama is out of our control. Sometimes it is just luck. And taking a lot of pictures and deleting the bad ones. That is the best thing about digital is it costs nothing to take a shot. Yes minimalism can be tough. I like abstract shapes and colors. I heard a photography teacher say that photography is a subtractive art. With painting you start with a blank canvas and add paint to it. With photography we start with the whole world and subtract everything but our frame in the camera.

A beautiful series of shots

Love the magical feel mist gives to a photo

Thanks ...and no blue {smile}..Sorry, next time a stunning blue sky just for you.

Blue may be my favorite color, but no so much for sunsets and sun rises the natural warm tones of nature are the best then and these shots are all stunning as they are :)

Very beautiful
Love your photography

Ooh I love the mist! It always makes for such amazing pics! nice job!

Wow, stunning photos

@themagus Wow. That pictures are amazing. So inspiring.
The combination of the sun, nature and the fog is so tuning..
The road is so mysterious.. Old and unpredictable, so fair.
So beautiful morning, hope you have a lot of more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52