The AfterImage Illusion

in #photography6 years ago

My first experience with an afterimage illusion was in the fifth or sixth grade when I saw one of our textbooks had an inverted photo of the American flag, with a small dot in the middle like the one below. The instructions were to stare at the dot for thirty seconds or so, then look up a blank white wall, and then miraculously, the American flag in it's true red, white and blue glory would drift upon the wall for a few seconds before graciously fading out. flaginverted.jpg

Wow. As a kid, I thought this was the coolest thing. Decades later, I finally know the name for this optical illusion. It's called the "Afterimage Illusion".

Looking back through the years, before social media, we'd pass around weird stuff to each other in the office, and sometimes it would be an inverted photo or picture that would give you that awesome, afterimage illusion.

I always thought it would make an interesting gallery showing where all of the works are all afterimages.

And what is one of the most famous gallery images, we know of?
Obviously, it's the Mona Lisa by Leonardo da Vinci, and it makes an incredible afterimage.
So, if you want to try it, stare at the black dot for 30 seconds and then direct your vision to a blank white wall.
image.jpg

Pretty awesome!
If you want to try some of your own, I found this online inverter where you can simply upload a photo and save down. Afterwards, open it in Paint and place a small dot, in the center. http://pinetools.com/invert-image-colors

Have fun and try it for yourself. Please tag me in your post if you make your own afterimage, and use the #afterimages keyword.

Copyright 2018 @thegridzom
All other original images:
Copyright Disclaimer Under Section 107 of the Copyright Act 1976, allowance is made for "fair use" for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research. Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statute that might otherwise be infringing. Non-profit, educational or personal use tips the balance in favor of fair use.

Sort:  

You got a 24.59% Upvote and Resteem from @ebargains, as well as upvotes from our curation trail followers!

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 80% of the voting service's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the service's SP pool daily! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

We are also a very profitable curation trail leader on https://steemauto.com/. Follow @ebargains today and earn more on curation rewards!

That mona lisa I've seen on the internet in very famous, but I've never tried, I'll try to see how it goes, although at this time I'm sleepy hahaha

I did the flag, I could see it for a few seconds on the wall, I just have a white wall in front of me, hahaha that was fun

Amazing what the brain can do.

I remember this from my school textbook too. Maybe it was history. Now, I'm going to be seeing stars all day. haha

That is a total trip! Thanks for sharing. I'll have to try it on some of my photos.

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

This post has received a 23.94% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @thegridzom. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

This post has received a 7.7 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57630.83
ETH 3105.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33