Punk rock is alive and well in... Huntsville, Alabama? (original photography)

in #photography7 years ago

Believe it or not, Huntsville, Alabama has had one of the best music scenes in the south for decades. I myself was the lead singer in a punk rock band here about 20 years ago, but these days I spend more time shooting photos of the bands than I do performing.

I have shot thousands of photos at local shows over the last few years as well as several press shoots for some of the bands.

Last summer, the legendary Richie Ramone played here and I was fortunate enough to be able to get some great shots of his band as well as the opening acts. I'm not sure if anyone on Steemit cares about live music photography, but I figured I'd make this post to share some of my favorite shots I took from that show.

If you guys would like to see more of my music photography, please let me know!

The first opening band was called The Commonwealth of American Natives. They are from Nashville, TN and play here on a pretty regular basis. They are extremely talented musicians and some of the friendliest people you'll ever meet. Here are some of my favorite shots I got of them from that night.

IMGP7268-Edit-2.jpg

IMGP7239-Edit.jpg

IMGP7246-Edit.jpg

IMGP7251-Edit.jpg

IMGP7253-Edit.jpg

IMGP7258-Edit.jpg

IMGP7273-Edit.jpg

IMGP7277-Edit-2.jpg

The second band to play that night was The Go-Go Killers. They are a loud, in your face Punk-Psychobilly band from right here in Huntsville who always put on an awesome show.

IMGP7296-Edit.jpg

IMGP7298-Edit.jpg

IMGP7320-Edit.jpg

IMGP7325-Edit.jpg

IMGP7327-Edit-2.jpg

IMGP7330-Edit.jpg

The third opening band that evening was Random Conflict, headed by a man affectionately known around here as Punk Rock Bill. Bill has been fronting bands around here for around 30 years and is a local legend in the punk rock scene.

IMGP7377-Edit.jpg

IMGP7359-Edit.jpg

IMGP7363-Edit.jpg

IMGP7367-Edit.jpg

Finally the main event took the stage. Richie Ramone and his band played a blistering, energetic set consisting of Richie Ramone originals as well as Ramones classics.

IMGP7379-Edit.jpg

IMGP7378-Edit.jpg

IMGP7383-Edit.jpg

IMGP7392-Edit.jpg

IMGP7393-Edit.jpg

IMGP7401-Edit.jpg

IMGP7406-Edit.jpg

IMGP7409-Edit.jpg

IMGP7410-Edit-2.jpg

IMGP7411-Edit.jpg

IMGP7423-Edit.jpg

IMGP7424-Edit.jpg

IMGP7426-Edit.jpg

IMGP7436-Edit.jpg

IMGP7440-Edit.jpg

IMGP7447-Edit.jpg

IMGP7453-Edit.jpg

IMGP7454-Edit.jpg

IMGP7466-Edit.jpg

IMGP7472-Edit.jpg

IMGP7482-Edit.jpg

IMGP7483-Edit.jpg

IMGP7484-Edit.jpg

All in all, it was one of the best shows I've ever been to and definitely one of the most fun to shoot pictures at, even if I did get banged around a little at times.

Like I said before, I've been shooting photos of live music for years, so if anyone out there enjoys this type of photography, please let me know with your upvotes, comments, follows, and resteems. I've got plenty more to share if there's any interest out there!

Sort:  

I'm totally sorry I'm just now seeing this post. What badass shots! Totally well done, @thedgt. Following you now, and look forward to more.

Thank you! I'll definitely be posting more soon. :)

Great photos. Thanks for sharing! I got to see CJ Ramone in NYC last fall. It was pretty good, just not the same. All we get now is the leftovers.

I'll make sure to drop into huntsville if I'm in the neighborhood. Resteemed.

It's one of the friendliest, most welcoming scenes there is, so you'd be welcomed with open arms. :)

great shots! hope to see more in the future!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TheDGT from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Holy shit, this is awesome!!! Awesome work! I love punk and I love me some music photography! I was actually an aspiring music photographer in my early college days before I got pregnant with my first daughter. I even got to go onstage and shoot some candids for Dropkick Murphys back in the day. I still dabble a bit ;)

So cool to see this scene in Alabama too! Surprisingly, we have a bit of a punk/psycho scene in Southern Missouri too. I think my husband @jasonrussell was looking for music photographers for a Discord project or something . I'll definitely be following you! @jasonrussell, hit up @thedgt for some of this awesome music photography!

Thank you so much! I'm a little jealous you got to shoot Dropkick Murphys, they're an awesome band.

Thank you for the resteem. I've followed you and Jason. I'll definitely be posting some more shots from shows I've done now that I know there's a little interest out there. Like I said, I've literally shot thousands of photos in just the last few years alone.

Thanks again and have a great week!

Looking forward to seeing more of your work! I'm sure it won't go unnoticed here on Steemit! :) I actually stumbled across your post because of a resteem from @jamtaylor. This is such an awesome and supportive community!

Hell yeah! I knew Alabama wasn't just the land of country music and Hank Williams. This is excellent photography work and really captured the electricity of the show and the people performing. Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much! I'll be sure to post some more soon!

Awesome @thedgt!! Sharing on discord on Steemit Local Music Society: Music Photography https://discord.gg/9kWY72R Really great photos!!

Thanks for sharing! I'll be sure to check out the discord when I get a chance!

Photos are full of energy. Obviously a tight space and you probably uses a wide angle with a lens hood on, but technical tidbits really couldn't kill the atmosphere here. Please provide some info on your equipment and exposure data, @thedgt. Upvoted, resteemed, followed & DPS.

Please state clearly how would you like to be featured in the “Daily Photo Selection”: with a linked photo, or with link only without a photo. We are making a list of photographers who are ready to improve the visibility of their work through the DPS. Thank you.

Hi! Thank you for the upvote and resteem. I'm a little confused by your comment though. Sorry, I'm still pretty new here. Are you wanting me to submit something for some kind of feature? What is Daily Photo Selection?

Daily Photo Selection is a curation service aimed to help struggling authors to improve their visibility. You can see there are a daily gallery of photos linked to the original posts of every author. At this time you have a link only. If you wish, you can opt for a linked photo, and for that you have to state clearly that you wish a linked photo. You don't have to submit anything else. Keep up the good work!

Amazing photo's and narrative! Thank you for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55