25 of my favorite random photos I've shot in the last few years, with descriptions.

in #photography7 years ago

These are just a few of my favorite shots that I've taken that wouldn't really make a good post on their own. Not all of these are technical masterpieces, but they all are personal favorites of mine for various reasons.

This first photo didn't come from any kind of formal shoot. I believe I was just testing out some various settings on a new camera and my cousin's daughter offered to pose for me. This was just a random shot where she happened to be looking away and I've always really liked it.
_SAM0655-Edit.jpg

This shot is of an old church in the historic district of downtown Huntsville, AL.
_SAM0152-Edit.jpg

This is another shot I took downtown. I don't really know what it is about this photo, but I've always really liked it. Something about the juxtaposition of the two sings I think.
_SAM0517-Edit.jpg

I've actually shared this one on here before, but I had to list it. This was shot at the Veteran's Memorial in downtown Huntsville, AL. It's one of my favorite shots I've ever taken. It's somewhat rare to process a photo of the flag in black and white, but I think it really works with this shot.
_SAM0073-Edit-Edit.jpg

This was shot at night on a very long pier in Pensacola, FL. It's a relatively simple shot, but I've always thought there was something kind of creepy and ominous about it.
IMGP1923-Edit.jpg

This shot was also taken in Pensacola on a different pier.
IMGP2006-Edit.jpg

I was visiting one of my oldest friends and his girlfriend in south Alabama. I decided to get the camera out and take some photos of them and their kids for them. Not a formal shoot at all, but I've always really liked this photo of his girlfriend's kid.
IMGP2963-Edit.jpg

Okay, I know this probably isn't the smartest thing in the world to do, but I shot this while driving back on the interstate from my trip down south. I just saw an awesome view in front of me, picked up my camera, and shot through the front windshield. I think it turned out pretty nice.
IMGP3646-Edit.jpg

I was volunteering as a photographer at a St. Baldrick's Live Bald event for childhood cancer research when I snapped this photo of the other volunteer photographer who was there. Again, not 100% sure why I like this photo so much, I just do.
IMGP4013-Edit.jpg

This is a pretty simple photo I shot of a campfire in a friend's backyard. I've always been fascinated by fire and admittedly was a little bit of a pyro growing up. I just really like the colors of the flames in this shot.
IMGP4661-Edit.jpg

I decided to go for a hike at the Land Trust of North Alabama. It's a massive area and very easy to get lost if you're not familiar with it. I met a lady who knew the area like the back of her hand and she very graciously offered to let me follow along with her and her two dogs. One of her dogs was nice enough to pose for me when we sat for a bit of a break.
IMGP4763-Edit.jpg

I was at a local comic convention and there were these two guys there dressed as "The Dancing Deadpools". The basically would just walk around and randomly put down the boombox, crank up some old school rap and start break dancing. They were actually really good and hilarious. This shot I got of them just cracks me up for some reason.
IMGP5639.jpg

At the same convention, this was the winner of the best female costume. I have to admit, I have no idea who she's suppose to be dressed as. I didn't know her, but I asked if I could get a couple of shots of her outside and she was nice enough to say yes. This one was my favorite.
IMGP5718-Edit.jpg

This next shot is of an old high school friend. I hadn't seen him since we graduated over 20 years ago. He was only about 6 months past beating cancer and was in town for his son's high school graduation. I got a chance to hang out with him and his wife for a bit and of course, I snapped a few pics of them both while they were here. Another informal shoot, but this ended up being one of my favorite portraits I've done.
IMGP7179-Edit-Edit.jpg

I live directly in the landing path of an international airport and a major military base. If I really wanted to, I could sit outside all day and probably snap photos of 15-20 different aircraft that fly directly over my roof. I just happened to be outside with my camera when this one flew over. This is a massive C-5 Galaxy Military Transport plane.
SAM_2391-Edit.jpg

The next few photos are from the day of two of my freinds' wedding. First one is just of a chair with the bride's dress draped over it and her shoes and bouquet sitting on it.
IMGP8593.jpg

The next is of the flower girls' shoes and flower buckets, as well as the ring bearer's shoes and bow tie.
IMGP8596-Edit.jpg

And this is a shot of the ring bearer and one of the flower girls.
IMGP8698.jpg

This cat just showed up and made himself at home in my garage a few years ago. I started to leave food out for him, but it was months before he'd let me even pet him. Eventually he started to feel at home and now he's to the point where he sleeps in the house at night and follows me everywhere when I'm outside. He LOVES attention and wants to be petted constantly. This is the only good shot I've ever been able to get of him because he usually runs right up to me and wants to be held as soon as I get near him.
IMGP9275-Edit.jpg

This shot was from a senior portrait session. It was the only one that I processed in black and white. I really love the bokeh and the lighting on this one.
IMGP7701-Edit-Edit.jpg

This was a shot I got of one of my friend's kids at the park. It can be pretty difficult to get a good shot of a toddler, but luckily he got distracted by a fountain long enough for me to sneak one in.
IMGP8382.jpg

This is my favorite shot I've ever gotten of my dog, Bella. Dogs, much like toddlers are kind of hard to get good shots of simply because they won't be still for very long.
SAM_1371-Edit.jpg

And here is one of my favorite shots I got of two of her puppies. They were about 7 weeks old here.
SAM_1363-Edit.jpg

I am fully convinced that this duck knew exactly what I was doing and struck a pose for me. You can't convince me otherwise.
SAM_5297-Edit.jpg

And finally, the reason this is one of my favorite shots needs a bit of an explanation. I was shooting some photos at a T-ball game for some of the parents. These were really little kids, ages 4-6. The little girl and boy in this photo are best friends, but play on different teams. You'll notice that they even wear the same number.

The little boy had just made the last out of the inning and was really upset, so the little girl from the other team ran over to him and walked with him all the way back to his dugout to be sure he was okay. It was just a really awesome moment.
SAM_6758-Edit.jpg

So, there you go. 25 of my favorite random photos that I've shot. I hope you enjoyed them!

Please don't forget to upvote if you did and if you'd like to follow me, that would be pretty awesome as well!

Have a great weekend!

Sort:  

Wow, soooo great pictures.

Thank you. :)

bravo! random and really natural! thanks for sharing!

Thank you. :)

A bit uneven gallery, but with some very good photos that are well worth seeing @thedgt. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Thank you!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TheDGT from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Those are some awesome photos! You're very talented!!

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55