You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Many Shades of Texas - [Original Photos]

My favourite one is the blue flowers one. The colours on that look like a painting to me and I love paintings.
I also like the red flowers with the green background a lot too. The contrast in colours is nice. It's not what I would expect from Texas but I do understand that a lot of Texas is green and forested (or at least I have heard that lately). I used to think it was all just desert.
I'm not scared of spiders but I suspect some of the ones in Texas are poisonous so I wouldn't want to get too close to them.

Sort:  

Thanks! Yeah I really dig those blue flowers, just beautiful. I'm fairly certain I'm arachnophobic, based simply off the pitch of my scream when a spider gets near me. I'm pretty sure that's how doctors determine whether you are or not. ;)

You're welcome I love photography and art:)

I think that's called the scream sign lol. I'm surprised you're arachnophobic because the ones in the second last picture look huge. I'm not too scared of spiders or bugs as long as they aren't close. If they are close then I have to leave. Apart from butterflies - they don't bother me.

So spiders scare you but not those huge wasps like yesterday. Is it anything in particular about the spiders? For me I didn't have much of a problem until someone told me that you swallow an average of 2 every year.

It sounds like one of those bullshit urban legend statistics to me but now if I see one up close I can't help but imagine it in my mouth.

Yeah I heard that as well and then checked it out and it is an urban legend afaict.

I have no idea why spiders (and most crawly type bugs) creep me out so much. It's weird because I have zero fear of snakes (probably to a fault), which most people I know are terrified of, and wasp/bees generally don't bother me either.

The only thing I can think of is my brother was/is an ahole and when we were kids he used to scare me constantly by putting bugs on me and screaming something like ... "OH MY GOD!" as loud as he could while pointing at me. :)

Man those spider pictures are awesome, I love 'em! Most of the time creepy-crawlies don't bother me much, though for some reason I can't stand moths. Especially the really big ones with furry bodies. The worst is we get luna moths up here where I am and while they're beautiful, they freak me right the hell out if they blunder into me. It's not like they can bite you or anything - for chrissake the luna moth doesn't even really have a mouth, they only live long enough to mate before they die - but they're just so damn big that they make my skin crawl!

I can understand that unfortunately I was the ahole brother who used to do those things to my little brother. I wasn't squeamish back then. Seems to be as I'm getting older.

Yes I thought the spider swallowing thing was BS but I'm a bit OCD and once I get an image stuck in my mind it's hard to get rid of. So my rational mind tells me it is BS but the image still bothers me! Crazy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53