My Artistic Representation of Depression : "Darkness"

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

I find it very hard to talk directly about having suffered from depression.  I created this photograph to try to explain it without words.  When you are depressed it feels like a "darkness" has descended over you and you almost get pushed back into the shadows eventually becoming invisible.

This was taken using a Polaroid 250 Land Camera - sadly the film for this is no longer manufactured and remaining stocks are both very expensive and very variable in quality due to it's limited shelf life.  In some ways it is apt that this photo was taken with it last year with my last film pack.

The model is the always great Rachelle Summers.  I hope you like this work.

(My own work.  Verification is here: http://www.aapicture.com/about-me - I also use this as my twitter and Bitcointalk avatar)


Sort:  

I like this image but it's hard for me to like something related to depression. I too suffered this in the past and one of my kids as well. It's misery and you don't know how to get out of it. Must way was worse watching my child suffer and nothing I did would help him at the time. Happier times now, gratefully.

Thanks. Yes I can sympathise. Good to hear things are better.

Why did the police officer smell? -Because he was on duty.

well spent last pack o film buddy!

Nice man! Nice aswell Rachelle ;)

Sorry to hear about your darkness . I hope you find your way out

Thanks. I'm generally better now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54280.30
ETH 2452.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24