How Doing Things Differently Can Make A Great Photo

This is one of the earliest photos I ever took. I think it would have been early in or mid 21012 when I was looking for things to photograph and I think it was a friend of a friend who put me in touch with this young lady who was making her own dresses to start a clothing line.  

When she was getting ready and I was testing the light  I saw something that I thought looked "right" to me.  She had her back to me and despite it being the exact opposite of how you normally take photos - I asked her to pose that way.

That is how I ended up with this photo.  Even now after all this time it is still one of my favourite photos because it shows that you can get great results by just breaking the rules sometimes.  The photo is not perfect the exposure is off and maybe too much but I still love it.

Sadly the young lady (who used to use the name Little Dolly for modelling/clothing) moved away and I lost touch with her.

Such is life.  Maybe some day I will see her creations in Vogue or Harper's.

Sort:  

GRAND

Thanks for all your support mate and general positivity. Love the videos:)

The composition of the photo and light placement are really interesting. It's a really great photo man!

"I think it would have been early in or mid 21012 "

Are you... from the future? :O :D

Lol. Sadly no it is just a typo should be 2012 - sod's law I always miss one.

Hehe, yeah, I always miss them too. :P Was so nervous that one time I edited like 4 times my typo's and was risking diminishing returns on my posts payouts.

Yes that's why I'm only going to edit if I absolutely have to now. Also the typo makes it funny in this case.

The subject of photography is important, but the composition makes it art

Yes you are absolutely right.

Nice one, her hand on the hips work great.

Yes. I have to thank the model for that she just did that herself and I thought it looked good so asked her to keep doing it.

You are right, we get more creative by doing things in new ways all the time... even failures and random mistakes can be a great inspiration.

Lasse Ehlers

Yes. Mistakes are one of the best ways of learning.

Couldn't agree more. Sometimes breaking the convention produces astonishing results.

Yes it is hard though as we tend to be programmed to do certain things a certain way. I think this could apply to many things in life.

great post, i'm glad its not another steemit post :)

A beautiful photo, I hope to see more work from you.

Thanks it is much appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62854.40
ETH 2463.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65