A Visit To The Old Museum and Park - Colour Infrared Photography

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Introduction


Here are some IR photos I took today. There were some really nice clouds and it wasn't raining so I thought I would get out and take some shots while I had the chance.

IR seems to be brilliant for picking up textures in old buildings and so I decided to try to get some shots of the old Library and Museum building.

Dynamic range always seems to be an issue with IR photography - unfortunately there seems to be no way around having either very dark and noisy shadows or blown out highlights - perhaps it is made worse by how low the sun is on the horizon this time of year.

Hope you like them. As always feel free to use them in your own posts as per Steemit4free.


Images


The Old Museum and Library Building


1

I love how these old buildings look in IR - you can see all sorts of detail and texture that is not normally very visible.


2

They don't make buildings like this any more! If I ever have the money I would love to save one of the many old buildings that are in disrepair and convert it into a house before they demolish it and put up one of those identikit modern monstrosities with plastic windows.


3

I loved how the sun was just going behind the clouds here.


4

I love how much intricate detail and craftwork there is on these old 19th century buildings.


5

Even the doors looks amazing.


6

Some more angled views.


7

The wide angle distortion is really apparent in these types of shots.


8

I always forget to take portrait orientated shots when I am photographing buildings. I remembered just in time!


Park and Pond Behind the Museum


9

You can see the pond and the rear of the old Museum/Library (with the modern 21st century extension) from this part of the park.


10

Some birds were making the most of the area surrounding the pond.


11

These ducks were really cute. When I was a kid the pond used to be frozen most of the winter. Now it hardly ever freezes I suppose the ducks aren't complaining though!


12

This one was following me around. I think it thought my camera was food. People feed the ducks and pigeons here so I think they expect it!


13

More of the modern Museum extension - this opened around the turn of the century. I have never actually visited it - apparently they have an indoor "Winter Garden".


14

A view from further back.


15

A similar view in the opposite direction - you can see the old bandstand. The war memorial (see below) is just to the right of here.


The Old War Memorial.


16

This is the war memorial I photographed last November. I love that classical style.


17

This plane came by at just the right moment!


18

Love the clouds here.


19

These are some shops opposite the War Memorial. Again I just love those old stone buildings. Modern buildings just don't compare.


Camera and Process Info


  • Nikon D7100 Camera with Nikon 18-35/f4 lens.
  • 590nm IR conversion.
  • White balanced in Nikon View NX.
  • Red and Blue Channels swapped in Photoshop.
  • Final adjustments in Lightroom.


Before you go have you filled in the Coinbase form to list STEEM? It only takes a few seconds. THIS POST shows you how.


If you like my work please follow me and check out my blog - @thecryptofiend


Images are my own.


Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers? - Try:


HTML tutorial


Sort:  

Gorgeous building, beautiful pictures and cute ducks, hope you took them some bread :)

Thanks. Sadly I didn't think to take any bread to give them:)

You took pictures without paying them..tut tut

It's probably for the best. There was a swan there too and previously they have tried to mug me for bread and my camera. Those swans can't be trusted.

You have to watch your back with Swans, they can be very sneaky

I thought it were Fallout 5 screenshots 8)))

Love those orange hues, so surreal against the blue :)

Beautiful photos...What city?

Thanks. It is Sunderland.

These are phenomenal! While hard to choose, I have to say my favorites are the ones of the war memorial.

Thank you:) I do like that old war memorial. I just wish I could get enough dynamic range to get both the statue and the sky looking good.

Does that mean it's time to switch to matrix like 3d mode? Lol!
I think #18 captured both pretty well.

I think the only way to get the whole thing bright without blowing the highlights is to merge two photos into an HDR but they always look iffy to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63570.02
ETH 3400.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56