Hidden Treasures

in #photography6 years ago

DSC_1187.jpg

DSC_1259.jpg

I fell in love with photography

sometime in the early 80's and was somehow able to buy a Minolta 35mm. I wish I could remember the model number. As with many budding enthusiast photographers, I was pretty much running and gunning and blowing through rolls of film with very little understanding of the settings. I mostly hoped for a few good shots per roll. I was pretty happy with that approach for a long time.

DSC_1259 (1).jpg

I became interested in digital cameras and was an early adopter of compact digital cameras. Again, I didn't really know very much about settings, aperture, shutter speed etc. My attraction to decent light always tended to right the ship more often than not. I progressed through several digitals and even a couple more 35mm cameras with a great semi pro Nikon. I started making some blind headway and experimenting with hooking up the camera to my telescope and getting some shots of the moon and things like that.

DSC_1250.jpg

I honestly couldn't say

what I like to shoot the most. If I figure it out I'll be happy to share. I'm exuberant about life for the most part and I engage in everything. I put my whole heart into everything I do. It's no different with photography for me. My paid gigs were always fun and great, but that was commissioned work.

If I meet someone I want to shoot I simply ask. I find a lot of freedom in that, and the interaction I have with my subjects is beyond priceless. Completely wonderful times I will never forget.

_DSC0558.jpg

When I lived in Prince George, BC

I really started getting into photography. Again. I was really blessed to be in a position to purchase everything I not only needed, but wanted. Of course that equipment is super long in the tooth by today's standards. Well, the Nikon bodies, not the glass. I had a D300 and a D2Xs at that time and great glass.

In case no one told you today, you're beautiful.

_DSC0525.jpg

Sort:  

Great modelling shots. I just realized you are fellow Canadian:)

Oh yes I am :) Glad you're still out and about around these parts. I'll add you to my Gina Bot if she ever lets me edit again. She barely let's me touch her settings anymore, we were so happy at first.

I have heard she can be a bit of a control freak ... lol:) But yes ... I love those MASH posts:)

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Oh wow you’ve got some great portrait shots here! Do you still regularly do photography or is it more of an occasional hobby?

Thanks @phamished very much. Both subjects were incredibly different personalities, shy and bold. Easy to guess who right? But such a pleasure to work with. The main reason it's more of a hobby now is music pays the bills. And when I show up to play at a wedding like last year, I'm done when I'm done. I pack up, drive home, face plant in my pillow and it's over. With photography I was backing everything up, worried about corrupted cards, editing, proofs and picks, books, slide shows and dealing with a couple in shell shock after their big day. Yup, I'll take a face plant in a pillow any day LOL. Oh yah, and this is Bug because it's 1:30AM just about and I was logged in with the wrong account to reply and I honestly can't be bothered to delete it LOL.

Oh hahaha you know what’s funny I didn’t even realise you were writing this from your other account until you mentioned it, shows how much I was paying attention 😛

Also that’s awesome that music pays the bills for you, I’ve always admired people who can make a living from “the arts” so to speak. Don’t you have to still rehearse etc for music? But I guess this is still less time consuming and “homework” than photography

That sounds like a nice camera, mine stop working so stuck with my cheap android cell phone lol

Awww that's a bummer @crystalpacheco30 cell phone cams are really getting great now but I know how it feels to be without the tool you want to use!!!

Awesome job! I had no idea you had this skill too!

Thanks Clive yah I have a ton of interests!!! :D

great to read your story, as you probably know I love photography as well, but I am not comfortable yet with taken portraits or model shots and not sure I ever will be

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95