TheScubaSherpa | Catch of the Day | The BoxfishsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

What's up Steemers?

I don't know about you, but Tuesdays are usually pretty boring for me, so I thought this might be a fun Tuesday segment to start. I hope this can be enjoyable while educational for all of you. Let's go:


For our first Catch of the Day, we have the White-Spotted Boxfish.

Screen Shot 2017-05-29 at 9.15.01 AM.png

I was lucky to get a quick glance at this fancy lady while diving in the Sea of Cortez off the coast of La Paz in the Southern Baja. This dive was one of our shallower, seeing scores of wildlife plus this gem, at roughly 30ft. Boxfish are native to the Indian and Pacific Oceans and are notably defined by their rectangular shape, receding dorsal fin, and bright polka-dotted spots.

Maxing out at nearly 10 inches, the female boxfish are usually darkly colored, with white spots while the males are still spotted, but are more brightly colored around their sides. When we spotted each other, this female was poking around in the rocks, most likely looking for dinner. Boxfish predominantly snack on small invertebrates, namely worms and sponges.

Socially, male boxfish are territorial, butting heads and slamming into one another with their hardy bodies. The boxfish's mating process operates through a harem-esque setting. Each male's territory may encompass several females...

I guess you could call their groups a pride? A pride of boxfish?
We're gonna go with that 😉

Until next time,
This was your Catch of the Day!
Keep it steemy


If you'd like to Up Vote or Resteem, it's always appreciated. If you'd like to see more dive related pictures and videos, please Follow and this sherpa will try not to disappoint.
Sort:  

When I was snorkeling once I got charged by a fish that looked like that.

Haha, oh no! Yes, the males can get a little rowdy, it's kind of funny since they're smaller, though surprisingly quick.

Yeah it headed right for my face. I didn't know I could back up that fast under water. LOL!

Good photo of nice fish!

nice :) boxfishes are really funny looking ;)

Nice pic, I learned something today!

Very good post and great idea for an ongoing series.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62928.79
ETH 2465.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55