Wanderlust In Hong Kong

in #photography6 years ago

My husband and I traveled to Hong Kong in 2016 for the very first time and I think, at least for me, that I left a piece of my heart in those rocky, jade colored mountains. It was the longest flight but the memories far outweigh the injustice of limited leg room and mild sleep deprivation. These are some of the photos taken while exploring the city, and a small fishing village just outside of Hong Kong called Tai O.

DSC_1193

DSC_1296_2

DSC_0134

DSC_0151

DSC_0267

Tai O was a reminder that while growth brings new discovery not everyone wants to be a part of the modern age. Old cultures break down over generations like water against the dunes; my heart ached for the elderly that knew no other life outside this simple little fishing village. Here I was, a tourist taking pictures with blind awe until I stepped inside someones house (unknowingly) because of the dilapidation of the area. He was very upset and I apologized as best I could before hurrying off.

DSC_0335

DSC_0386

DSC_0406

DSC_0408

DSC_0421

DSC_1204_2

The colors are spectacular; the buildings, and the grandeur of technology were truly something to behold and admire; humans have come a very, very long way. I look forward to my next adventure in the East.

Sort:  

very beautifully taken photographs of Hongkong... very pretty look.. nice posts..

Congratulations @tessera! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @tessera! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71