W​hat Smell Brings Back Great Memories?

in #photography3 years ago

Pretty flower smell.jpg

T​his may sound a bit bizarre, but think about it: a smell that transports you back to another time and place in a fraction of an instant, one that brings a smile to your face and possibly a tear to your eye.
What kind of fragrance could this be for you? Is it the aroma of Grammy's chocolate chip cookies--you know the ones with the pecans you spit out? The smell of root beer floats taking you all the way back to a middle school party playing spin the bottle and the bottle landing on your crush? Or the scent of Autumn leaves being gathered into a pile after a day filled with laughter as you discussed the best scary movies and why it's (and will always be) Scream?

W​here did it take you?

Whatever came to mind, this smell that has the power to bring you to your happy place, will always be a personalized present. It's a time capsule, a message in a bottle waiting just so that anytime you come across this particular scent you transcend time and space to be somewhere else. Somewhere beautiful. Fun. Maybe even exotic.
U​sing our noses can be a peculiar thing, especially when it brings back memories we weren't aware would be so imprinting on our lives.

photo-1588868478780-508f035f7562.jpeg

The soft scent that lifts off the pages when I open a book takes me back to the day I fell in love with reading. Being cozy under my covers launching into a Nancy Drew novel will forever be an escape I'd return to any chance I get. I wasn't aware at the time of the impact such a seemingly insignificant moment would have on me, and that it would later turn out to be the beginning of a long journey of adoration and joy. I'm grateful this is where I go when I begin a new venture into a different world with each newfound book I pick up. All thanks to that olfactory sense.

Smell is a gift. It rewards us. It patiently holds and cares for a memory that is otherwise locked in our minds and willingly and passionately shares with us, sometime when we least expect it.

Let your nose lead you to relaxation.

photo-1554167838-07aa5723df3a.jpeg

So treat yourself. Light up that cinnamon doughnut scented candle, take a warm bubble bath and return to a moment rich in the greatness of those happiest of memories.

Comment and let me know what's your "happy reminder smell"!

(Photos by, respectively: Živa Trajbarič, Lucas George Wendt, Maddi Bazzocco)

xoxo
Tessa

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56373.71
ETH 2972.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12