Lessons learned in today's Portrait shoot

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I learned a few things today, one be firm that if we are doing a in the middle of the day shoot, that it is in a location with lots of trees that offer shade especially when there is a little baby involved. The shoot turned out alright don't get me wrong, but I know I could have done better if were would have been in a shade place the whole time. We started out in a partially shaded places, but the sun was still way to bright for my liking. But the clients have seen the photos and love them. So maybe I am being to hard on myself. But I know I can do better, if I schedule this location at the proper time of day.

DSC_0086-1.jpg

It was so bright out there today I decided that I wanted to try to soften this photos so I used a B&W cool photo filter on it.

DSC_0094-1.jpg

This is the original
DSC_0094-1 color.jpg

Once we got out of the sunny area the photos turned out so much better.

DSC_0113-1.jpg

DSC_0139-1.jpg

DSC_0145-1.jpg

I was pretty sure there was gonna be hard shadows cast in the bright sun and I was right. But it taught me a lesson about being firm with clients about timing for outdoor shoots.

A big thank you to Patrick and Tristan and little Shiloh for being my models today.

I hope you enjoying learning what I learned today, I plan to learn from today's mistake and improve. Thankfully the location for today does have a nice shaded area, and we got a ton of good photos in that area.

Sort:  

Great pics. I have not done a lot of portraits. I am pretty good at doing candid shoots of unposed people. One thing I heard that is good for outdoor portraits it to have a large white shear cloth. The photographer who gave the tip says she throws it up in to a tree or whatever to provide shade and diffused light on a too sunny day. She shoves it into her camera back and has used the same fabric for years.

Great tip I think I am gonna have to try it. Thank you

ur baby is cute :)

Thanks for sharing your experience.

Beautiful pictures! :)

Wow Nice pictures!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44