STEEMIT brought out my photography instincts.

in #photography7 years ago

I risk getting stung/bitten this morning by this Jack Spaniard wasp or Abispa in Spanish (scientifically known as Polistes Annularis) aka Jack Spania in St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands just to take this photo to share on STEEMIT with my fellow STEEMERS.

Believe it or not I was just going to grab a guinep or guenepa in Spanish (scientifically known as Melicoccus Bijugatus) and suddenly spotted the Jack Spania and knew I had a great shot. Since my camera is my LG Stylo2 phone, I had to get the lens super close.

I've been stung/bitten so many times in the last 4 years that they don't scare me as much as when I was a child.

So far this year I've been stung in my calf, neck twice, arm...no big deal. It's part of the price we, Teamrodriguez pay during night crabbing for our crabbing business.

Most island people when stung say, "A Jack spania bite me."

My experience when stung is not so bad since I am not allergic to them. The area affected feels an immediate sting, then a burning sensation, swelling and itching. By the next morning it's usually gone...no signs of being attacked.

When I get stung, I alert my husband and anyone with us, "A Jack Spania bite me." I proceed to move from that location (making sure the Jack Spania(s) is/are not following me) because if I stay, they can bite me again and again. Once the coast is clear and Sammy, my husband check the affected area...I feel better. The best medicine to cure the bite is LOVE and CARING!!!

Some island remedies for the sting(s)/bite(s) are: toothpaste, aloe and urine (yes...pee pee)...lol

Here is the actual picture...

20170725_112259.jpg

Here, I cropped the picture for a wonderful close up...

20170725_112259-1.jpg

Follow this link for wasp sting(s) or bite(s): treatment and home remedies... http://tipnut.com/wasp-stings/

If you like this post: resteem, upvote and follow us @teamrodiguez.

Be a part of our Steemit journey!!!

Sort:  

U are amaizing! I love your blog! very nice pics @teamrodriguez

Thanks for your comment...it encourages me to continue writing. Let's follow each other so we can enjoy this journey as fellow steemian.

Nice picture. I hate wasps. That was very brave of you.

Thanks for your comment...I hate wasps too but I am no longer deathly afraid of them. The Jack Spania was watching me and I was watching her...lol Once the cell phone camera flash went off, I started walking backwards in retreat. : ) I upvoted your comment and now following you. Review my blog and follow if you want to be part of @teamrodriguez journey. See you around.

Wow! That is a good shot. I'm surprised he didn't move while you were getting closer. U were grabbing Kenip? Tit Milly just sent me another box full. We love them so much. It's like candy. They walk around sucking them like sour balls. Yum yum!

Hi, It did move...first it was under the guinep and branch, then moved there. I think it was posing for me...lucky shot. Right place, right time. I am planning on sending you a box of guinep from our neighnor's tree...they are all on our side of the fence. Text me your address. Ohhh and thanks for the resteem and upvote. Always appreciated.

Yes, once you get goin and earning Steem dollars consider using randowhale or minnowbooster. You send them 1 sbd from your wallet with the post u want Upvoted in the memo box. and they will upvote you a random percentage. For 1 sbd you usually get 2-4sbd back. Good deal!

Great info...will do some. My need some coaching the first time I do it. 😡 Ohhh...I hear you volunteering. Thanks love!!!

Amazing shot. I remember being stung by these growing up. I use to run from them when I was hanging clothes outside. Thanks for posting this pic. Action photo.

Thanks for the compliment. Yes, I remember those days... Every insect loved you like you were sugar water...lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60736.77
ETH 2370.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63