Some thoughts on architectural abstract photography

in #photography6 years ago

As some of you know, one of my main offline pursuits is semi-abstract photography. I finally got my Jellyfish off to their first show, and now I'm starting to think about moving forward with some other things. Architecture was where some of my earliest abstract work was done, and also what I'm thinking about most now.

Red Window.jpg
Montreal Botanical Garden, 2011

One of the things I really like about abstract photography, particularly in architecture, is the ability to add realistic character to the negative space. This white wall is not quite a white field. The little stains below the window break the illusion of isolation just enough to make clear that what you're seeing is not just a window injected into a frame via the rule of thirds, but a window upon a blank white wall. The negative space is strong but also tangible.

Stone Circle.jpg
Harriet Island, St. Paul, 2015

Similarly, the varied textures of the stone here make this something more than a simple collection of shapes, as do the imperfections breaking the lines on the top and the top-left. This is what I'm looking for, and what makes it as photography more interesting to me than purely compositional abstract forms like painting or collage. There's an aspect of external entropy, coming from some force other than me, that lends a feeling of existing in real space to the work even though it is still very much focused on form.

Tree Shadow, St. Paul.jpg
St. Paul, December 2014

Sometimes that organic element is more foregrounded, as here with the shadow of the tree impinging on abstract forms of the architecture. The topical contrast lends a certain frisson to the image: do you see the tree first, or the architecture first? Do you have to move back and forth between your perception of them, or can you integrate them into a meaningful whole? Where the red window subtly tricks you into perceiving the wall, here the tree is in some ways in active conflict with it.

Boat paint 2.jpg
Silverwood Park, St. Anthony, Minnesota, 2017

And then sometimes the entropy itself is foregrounded and becomes the subject. These shapes would not have been of particular interest when they were first produced, but the effects of time and weather have turned them into something with a certain amount of power.

Union Windows.jpg
St. Paul Union Station, 2014

Another way to accomplish this is by establishing and breaking a pattern, as in the photos above and below. This is a useful effect to draw attention in all sorts of photography, and as you can see these are closer to traditional architectural work than the abstracts above.

Purple Windows, Musée de l'Amérique française.jpg
Quebec City, 2014

Perfection is all well and good, but one of the things photography is very good for in abstract work is the organic and harmonious imperfection that draws attention to the perfect parts of the form. This is hard to accomplish from imagination, but in observation often the processes of the real world have accomplished it for us.

Saturn V Abstract.jpg
Johnson Space Center, Houston, Texas, 2017

Sort:  

There's a thing about abstraction
Its adds more details, dept and a sense of solidilty. It takes a creative mind to be able to capture fremd and incredible shots like this. Thanks for inspiring me sir, i do a lil of abstract but naw you have givem me the motivation i needed, I'd tried out more of it henceforth.

I'm digging this kind of photography!

The one taken at Silverwood Park was my favorite, like you said:

the effects of time and weather have turned them into something with a certain amount of power.

Very well done! I love them jellyfish too! Thanks for sharing.

I love this series of photographs! Ironically hours ago I posted my abstract art series =p it's just the abstract time of the month.

It's always the abstract time of the month here.

I love these, TC... there's a sense of space and place, and design, and the marriage between the architect of these spaces (intentional or unintentional) and your eye.

like.... looking at these brings me a sense of order and aesthetic .... and serenity :>

The ones in the middle that establish and break patterns are very jarring, and I like those ones a lot. But I rather like all of these photos.

A glitch in the Matrix!

Dear @tcpolymath,

A very interesting way of looking at the building. By highlighting the texture and composition of the facade, it brings a different dimension of visual impact to the pedestrians. This can be a themed contest as well!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

You got a 34.95% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tcpolymath!

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44