Photo of Coronado Beach

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Coronado Beach | San Diego, CA
1/640s F 7.1 ISO 400
Nikon D600, 50mm 1.4

I began taking photos sometime as a child. In 8th grade, I was on the school newspaper staff, and found myself taking more and more photos, then on 35mm film. A passion was born that resides with me today. However, for a long time I was largely a button pusher. I had very little technical expertise, but always looked at things with a curiosity, and as such, never lacked things I wanted to capture. Eventually I began educating myself on the fundamentals and technical aspect of photography, which I teaching to others. Feel free to ask me questions about any of the photos I post. I'd love to share what I know and maybe help others capture the world around them.

DSC_8481.jpg

This photo of Coronado Central beach in San Diego was taken hand held. I was simply walking near the Hotel Del Coronado and enjoying a beautiful evening. As I looked up the beach, the contrast of light and shadow caught my eye, along with the golden sunset splashing the sand and foliage. I liked the idea of a beach shot without the ocean in view.

Technicals: Being a hand held photo, I wanted to make sure my image was sharp. I took the photo at 1/640, but could have gone with a slower speed like 1/250 and dropped my ISO.

Sort:  

Congratulations @tayda! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Beautiful shot.
I miss San Diego..

Thank you! Love San Diego!

I lived in OB for 10 years before I moved up to Portland in 2001. I'm sure a lot has changed since then but it's cool to see that same horizon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58949.08
ETH 2306.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47