Sort:  

Your accent adapts to the dialect. I notice this myself, because where I live now they speak a very different dialect compared to where I grew up. Over the years my language has changed, but when I realized, that I am talking to my parents like a tourist, who came for a visit from the city, I began to develop my language back and now I speak mostly, like I learned it 😆
That's different from NZ to US, I know, but your words reminded me.

Posted using Partiko Android

That’s so true plus for 30 years I have worked in a multinational environment so I think rather than picking up any one accent most be has become a more neutral one
But that’s said it’s funny as although my accent is a lot weaker now I still get asked a lot where my accent is from and I feel funny answering NZ as it isn’t really an accent from there anymore

I think, you cannot loose all of the accent you grew up with, unless you really want to, and train hard...
Our "neutral" German would be "Hochdeutsch", where you speak as you write, so that somebody from northern Germany could understand me, being from southern Austria, and vice versa 😆

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes I think your right and also your accent comes back quickly when in an environment of people who speak it my accent came back pretty quick after only a few days back in NZ

That's also true, and when I was socializing I have spoken deepest dialect from home, apart from socializing with Whisky, what made me speak English, strange, but true 😁

Really WOW thats interesting when I drink I start to talk faster and my Kiwi accent really comes out then even my wife used to have trouble understanding what I was saying sometimes

You blame the Kiwi accent, when your wife does not understand your socialized tongue 😉

Any Excuse will do with me, but your right its probably Socializing related :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.07
ETH 2408.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43