Don't get so distracted on your destination you miss the things you pass in life getting theresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

A discussion I had with someone on here on one of their posts made me this about how so many of us are so focused on where we are trying to get to that we miss so many things we pass along the way getting there

And I find as I am getting older I do focus on where I am going whether its a walk around the city or life goals, but I have now slowed down a little and focus on the little things that may passes by in our life that are beautiful and perhaps all these small instances of beauty are in total more valuable to use that our end goal

So before sharing some photos I guess te point of this post is, sure set goals and strive to achieve them, but don't become so obsessed with them you miss other little joys of life all around you

Now all these shots were taking as I was walking around NYC in most cases I was heading to a certain point, whether for photos of a particular building, between offices for meetings or off to Drs appointments but these things caught my eye and I stopped to grab some shots such as
image
I came across this Lion in the city which has seen better days but is still on the street protecting a shop entrance :)

image
And this little fountain on the corner of the church in the city
image
Actually came across this bit of street art on a shop when I had actual lost track of where i was going and trying to work out which way I should be heading to get back to my office

image

Or this cool looking door

Speaking of doors there are so many cool doors in NYC I did a whole series of shots of doors a few years back, must get some of those for a future post

But thats all for this post, for those who persevered through my writing to get this far thanks so much you may now see why I generally just post photos and not do a write up :)

Stay cool and Steem on

Sort:  

Yay a fellow New Yorker and lover of moments. Photos are fantastic. Really would love to see more.

Thanks have plenty of new NY shots to process and share soon
:)

VERY beautiful pictures and thank you for posting

Thanks Kim :)

He looks hungry 😀😀😀😁😁😂

OHh yes I thought so to so did not get to close to him :)

Yes, I totally agree that we should stop to look around us to see the beauty despite our "busyness".

Thanks and yes I wish I had heeded this advise when I was younger but I am finding I whole different perspective on life now

enjoyed your photos.. must be a great place to live for photo opportunities

Thanks :) I do love NYC for the photo Opportunites all the amazing buildings and little bits and details here there and everywhere, but to be honest I am a country boy at heart so commute in and out of the city for work so I can live somewhere more open, cleaner and with nice beaches :)

Great post! With everything that is going on around us all the time, we definitely lose track of things and forget the little details of our daily lives. I remember studying for the CPA exam at a coffee shop but instead of studying we would just watch people come and go, the buzzing of the city streets, the sounds and noises of city life, the beautiful architecture of the surrounding buildings, and the nice breeze that was blowing past us. In those moments, we learn to appreciate the little things that surrounds us. Your beautiful photos definitely make the small details around us stand out!

Thanks for such a nice comment, and about the cafe and instead of studying looking around, maybe at the time you needed a break from studying books and you were instead studying life no living. Something also very important to learn :)

Great post!!! Stunning images and a wonderful message 💓 I serious adore and want that lion statue, so cute 💕 🦁

Thanks and yeah it was so cool and huge maybe 3feet tall if I remember

Great Photos and Advise.

Wonderful pics!

Thanks kindly

This is what I love about photography, it makes you pay attention to your surroundings, making sure you don't miss something wonderful that normally you would not see. Fabulous shots by the way.............the doors are my favorite. I love old beautiful architecture. RSD & UPV 😊

Thanks and yes it is great that photography makes us do much more observant:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64956.33
ETH 3456.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55