Venice up and down - How I approach photography

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Another look at why I set some of my shots in the way I do. My hope through talking about this stuff is that those looking into getting into photography can better think through their shots as they take them rather than point, click and hope like I did for many years. I am an amateur myself and enjoy trying new things and it is beneficial to sometimes take a slightly deeper look.

This shot is from my honeymoon and an overnight stay in Venice.

Straight lines draw the eye or can be used to confuse. In this image from Venice I took an angle and longer lens to flatten the scene and shorten the space between the mooring points and the buildings as well as taking the perspective out from the buildings themselves.

By removing the depth, it plays subtle tricks on the eye and mind of the viewer as the scene looks somewhat unnatural. A little awkward even. This may also make it interesting for some and draws them in to untangle the scene and reorganise it to make sense to the mind. For others it might annoy and frustrate.

What do you think?

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

Beautiful pic!

Thank you very much @fitgirl

Beautiful shot, love the juxtaposition of the facades with the stakes.

Thank you @hansikhouse
I think the contrasts between objects is what I aim to either over emphasise or over minimise in a lot of my photography work. The same when I write. I try to show how we are all much the same but through process, very different.

welcome along any time to take part in the journey.

Great photography!

Thank you very much @jonjon1 :)

Thanks for the explanation. I'm new at photography and always looking for helpful tips.

Glad to help. I won't get technical generally but willtry to give my perspectives. Maybe it will help looking at scenes from different angles.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79