Stories from behind a camera

in #photography5 years ago

When carrying the camera somewhere new, I try to capture some images that I can't get normally and often look for something I can use in posts to convey a story. I am sure I am not the only one who uses images to catalyze thoughts, but if you don't and you are a person who struggles for content topics, try it as it can become a very creative process.

We all think in pictures and producing a stream of thought that uses a particular image as the source can bring clarity and focus as well as give the audience an additional modal connection to the work. Remember to source your images well if they are not your own.

While my daughter has a nap, I thought I'd transfer a couple images from camera to phone and give a few examples of what I might use them for. These are pretty much untouched so far and I will likely edit them later.

This first one is one of my favourites from the trip and speaks of turmoil, disruption and resistance. I like that it goes from the white-capped wake into the darkened water and I think it would be a good image to accompany the changing world and the uncertainty of the future.

20190616_120729.jpg

This next one is looking back at Stockholm as we pulled away. This is a more positive image that speaks of a healthy community, something that the Swedes generally are in comparison to much of the world. This might fit well with a Steem-based post as I see that Steem is much like a digital city with many overlapping factors to a bricks and mortar community. That gives me an idea for a post later.

20190616_115652.jpg

This next of a similar ship running alongside us would be suited taking of some kind of luxury, at least for me. These kinds of Finland to Sweden cruises are common here, but if you consider how few in the world would actually ever experience such a trip, it is quite a luxury item. People often forget just how much variation in life circumstance there can be, especially positioned near the top of the economic clusterfuck that is the global economy.

20190616_115739.jpg

This one is an old windmill missing its blades that we passed in the Swedish archipelago. There is something sad about it, like it has had its life purpose taken away yet remains standing vigilant and hopeful for another opportunity. Some opportunities only come around once - you might imagine what I could use this for.

20190616_115716.jpg

This last one taken down the side of the ship of lifeboats suspended at the ready above the wake gives me the idea of abandoning ship. Rats? However, coupled with the wake and the dark water, what future are they escaping into and will.it be better than the one they left.

20190616_115948.jpg

I like imagery that tells a story and I feel that reading with the support of accompanying pictures adds depth to the narrative that helps me connect. When I know the images are self-taken, it adds a personal layer also which helps get to know the author better.

No matter what the topic, the best way to include an audience is to create a narrative that engages the imagination and gets a reader to build a story they themselves can relate to. When people read a work of fiction, they develop a personal view of the world that they connect intimately with and the same thing can be developed even if talking about economic policy or mathematics.

A lot of people do not understand much of the world because they do not have a visualised conception of it. Creating relatable examples and pinning personalized stories to a framework removes a lot of the complexity and makes it much more inclusive.

I think that the quote, "if you can't explain it simply, you don't know it well enough" is more based on the ability for the audience to develop a mental picture of a concept rather than the actual words being simplified. I have the sense that people's imaginations are dying on average however and soon, they will need to be told exactly what to do.

"If you can't create a world in your imagination, how do you expect to improve a real one?"

That last quote is mine. It needs some work, so don't quote it yet.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(looking out to sea and seeing islands)

Sort:  

How can you improve the world we live if you can't imagine a better one?

Meesterboom 2019
stolen from taraz :0)

5 more posts on the agenda today then? :)

I see where you are coming from though, and it is something I could learn a lot from. I work the other way around - much less creative.

1:00 am, opens the computer

"Honey, are you still posting on Steem?"

"No, but I'm going to write 5 quick ones before going to sleep."

Lol, I did write last night's from in bed :D

I might manage one as there is a lot of family activity left and a long drive home.

Images are one way for me, my favourite us through conversation with people who love what they do or.. hate it ;D

Hope you guys had a good weekend.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah it has been nice to do something different. Needed it.

I like the "abandoning ship" one. It certainly reflects my how I feel about being stuck in the USA right now. I did see that there's an island in Ireland hoping to attract US and Australian people to repopulate it...

I did see that there's an island in Ireland hoping to attract US and Australian people to repopulate it...

The Australians will work in the bars, The Americans will need subtitles. :D

This American won't :-) I lived with a girl from Kells for awhile. Aussie could be tricky, though... Lol

You got a 38.47% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tarazkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 25 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61042.80
ETH 2605.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65