Steemitphotochallenge #44 - Entry 3 - Earn your crust, make some bread

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Twice a year or so an international food festival rolls through for a couple of days and sets up shop in the main park of the city. When the weather is good, it is a lovely chance to try some different foods like strudels from Germany, Churros from Spain or fudge from England. It is quite popular these days and each instance seems to add another seller or two. This picture is from a bread shop that sold a range of freshly baked goods and the smell was pretty awesome.'

The sellers seem to have a kind of circus relationship as they travel from country to country with each other most of the year. It must be quite a strange life to be constantly on the move, never really settling for any great length of time. It would be both somewhat freeing and restricting as the travel is dictated by the next location, the next sale.

I can't imagine it being an easy job especially for some of the foods that are not as popular. I would assume that in some countries some foods sell extremely well and in another , it struggles to make ends meet. The effort and investment still needs to be put in though.

I wonder if when one stall struggles, do the others help out when times are good? Or is it a free for all competition where each owner is init for themselves? It would be interesting to observe the cultural dynamics over time to see how it all comes together and how their private lives cope with the inconsistency and continual travel.

[ Olympus EM-1 | f2.8 | 1/1600s | ISO640 | 12-40mm 2.8 @ 23mm]

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

What a great excuse to go out and eat @tarazkp. Strudels from Germany would certainly be high on my list. The Germans are certainly known for their cakes and sweets. My problem is my sweet tooth is very bad for my health. I think once I arrive it would be hard for me to leave!

I have that problem too. I ate an apple Strudel and Churros. There were plenty of 'healthy' options but...

hahahaha - yep I'll call you an ambulance so they can roll you out next time... I will be in the first ambulance that arrives :)

Upvoted!
The breads look so tempting to devour. I wish you the best in the contest!

@tarazkp you are my Steemit discovery of the day. Awesome shots and tangible stories behind them. Great work.

Thank you very much. I am sure I will disappoint you soon but the next day I may redeem myself, so stick through :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61979.42
ETH 2916.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63