Reflections on Symmetry

in #photography7 years ago

There is calmness in reflections. I think it has something to do with the symmetry and balance.

I heard somewhere a long time ago that people classed as attractive usually have high levels of symmetry between the left and right side of their face and that those with crooked features garner less trust. I find this concept interesting in many ways and wonder why we have come to believe that a crooked smile is untrustworthy.

These days, I also find this interesting because of the 'uncanny valley' problem with human robotics. I think that part of the reason the uncanny valley is difficult to overcome is that when a face is artificially manufactured, it is usually symmetrical between sides which makes it off-putting in some way. For us humans to accept it, it has to be a little flawed. It seems that we are unwilling to accept perfect but more than willing to trust close to perfect.

Of course, looks are generally no great indicator to the reality of a person and has zero inference to general intelligence but it is common that these types of things do influence our impressions of a person and how ready we are to receive or reject them or their ideas. We are predisposed to make judgements on looks and many of these things may have biological basis.

I am yet to meet someone that truly lives by 'looks don't matter' except maybe the blind. But even the few blind people I know judge based on other characteristics like tone of voice. I asked a blind friend once what she heard in the voice and she described an image that she gets from the persons voice. So, even though she can't see, she still imagines the looks.

That is the only time I have asked about it from someone so I do not know if that is common but I know for me, when I hear a voice over the phone, I start to build a mental image too. Do you do this too?

If symmetry is important for trust though, it is better I stay behind the keyboard because when I smile it is crooked and one eye closes up like a pirate ;)

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

The image is from under a local bridge and the patches in the reflection is actually floating ice.

[ EM-1 | 12-40 2.8 | f4.5 | ISO 320 | 1/80s ]

Sort:  

Kind of reminds me of that scene in john wick 2 where they enter a room full of mirrors and this automated voice talking about the soul and stuff.

This is a beautiful picture you captured good job.hope to see more awesome stuff from you @tarazkp

That is a pretty mesmerising photo

I'm here because I see your photo on the DPS from @photo-trail . I'm really impressed by your work and I want Invite you to my new contest #yourcityvibez it's a new project and all about urban photography. Would be great to see something from you there ✌🏼

Thank you, I will have a look at it too :)

If symmetry is important for trust though, it is better I stay behind the keyboard because when I smile it is crooked and one eye closes up like a pirate ;)

Aargh matey, you've a good eye there.

Really compelling picture, thanks for sharing it. Followed & upvoted.

Wow! This is amazing :)

And there is a kind of secrecy when you're not sure what's reality and what is justa reflection. Good work @tarazkp. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Thank you very much. I must add, you are doing a very good job curating DPS.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65