Like mother, like daughter: Squirrel baitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

It is pretty foggy here and before the midday nap, we went out for a walk in the forest to see what we could see. It is hovering just above zero but is quite wet which means warm and waterproof clothing. This is nothing yet though and between now and minus 20, there are still many layers to come. We headed down to the lake as I wanted to get a few photos there and we came across a little squirrel preparing for winter.

My wife has always been obsessed with forest creatures and it seems that our daughter will follow in her footsteps. This was the first time she has really been close to a squirrel and I was surprised at how she acted. She didn't speak, she didn't point, she didn't move for the most part at all. She just watched with curiosity as the little thing got braver and came closer. At times, she could have bent and touched it but when it was at its closest, she would stand like a stone, eyes shining brightly as she watched it nibble things near her feet.

I was expecting her to move or laugh or try to get closer but instead, she was more like a hunter looking to capture it in her mind. At one point, the little squirrel ran off for a moment and my daughter watched it retreat into the forest until she could see it no more. It was only then that she looked at her mother and smiled at the experience. My wife was beaming at what was taking place and with the subdued tones of the foggy forest, there was a feel of magic about.

A moment later, the squirrel came back and it had brought a friend to come and explore the curious little girl in hot pink. They both danced around her in some kind of ritualistic display, perhaps welcoming her into their family. She watched them and would slowly turn her head so she could keep an eye on them both. They played like this for about 10 minutes and in that time, my daughter didn't take a step or say a word. If you knew her, you would understand that the only time she is not talking is when she is asleep and if she has even the slightest bit of energy in her little body, she will use it without remorse.

In the years to come, I am looking forward to going wandering into the forest when she is more stable on her feet and we are able to have some talks about what we see and find. Too often these days children are entertained by a game, a phone or a playground. Living in Finland and being surrounded by nature means that there is always something to do, something to explore, something to observe. The forest is teeming with all kinds of life and I think that watching it happen creates the understanding that it is something truly worth protecting.

There is value in simplicity of life.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

Dude those are awesome pics!!! great little experience to share and adorable family! best wishes to you all.

Happy squirrels!! Your daughter is totally adorable! <3

Dear Taraz! Your family is absolutely beautiful! You discover together. I said "aww" the entire time I was reading. Cuteness overload. :)

What's not to love with babies and squirrels :)

holly cow you have a BEAUTIFUL family! OMG!! You're daughter is soo sooo precious. I didn't realize you also live in Finland... have you ever met up with @acidyo. :)

Yes, I have been here a while but haven't yet met up with any Steemit Finns . One day, we will have SaunaFest :P

Wonderful story and wonderful experience. It's incredible what instincts made your little one behave like that.
And I do so envy you for all the beautiful picture. Just two days ago we were in a park and tried to capture some pictures of a squirrel, but it went up a tree. Creatures in the wild probably have no fear of people like animals that somehow survive in a big city.

Instincts are funny things. I am looking forward to watching how she develops hers.

The squirrels are so fast, I am yet to get a great picture.

I do not envy the cold, but your daughter is very fortunate... as are you and your wife. Be very happy!

I am grateful indeed.

Yes, much value in simplicity of life..great pictures and nice family ..hi to the beautiful damsel ..

I like all the pictures, but I especially like the last one with the leaping squirrel and your daughter's expression.

:)
She is my little shining star. I am so looking forward to seeing how she is going to use what she has inside. Thanks for stopping by, even if it was through a spammer. Welcome back anytime.

Happy accident indeed!

It is so nice seeing and knowing things like this, like how you guys as parents, let your child get involved with nature itself. I am promoting green life in some of my blogs and I am sophisticated that I have encountered parents who love to promote the essence of naturality to the new generations. and one more thing, your baby is so adorable! :)

She is adorable indeed (most of the time) and I have a feeling that she is going to be the driver of lots of exploration for us as parents.

What a moment. Thank you for sharing the magic to us. 🙂 There would be more of this to come so I'll follow you for more. Resteemed this as well.

Thank you, the support is welcome and there is always more to come, who knows what it'll be though :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62869.05
ETH 2545.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72