Icy waters and fault lines

in #photography5 years ago

My mother had a friend who went on a month-long cruise through the Antarctic. One morning at breakfast, a female passenger struck up a conversation with him and they hit it off and on return to Australia, chose to spend their lives together. When I spoke to him about it, he called her his soulmate and saviour.

The reason he took the cruise to Antarctica was to fulfil a dream to see it, before committing suicide by jumping overboard.

Ever wondered how randomisation can affect a life and, how quickly a mind can change? What about your own?

I find it interesting how small influences, a little swing either way of luck, right place, wrong time, a handshake, a smile or a breakfast alone aboard a ship in the Antarctic can change outcomes. For me, randomisation of events has always been my friend, even though I believe it has swung negatively more than positively much of the time.

While the control over much of our life is limited, I think that we can affect some aspects and one of those is our psychological position. While not easy, we are able to work on ourselves to strengthen skills and lessen the effects of weaknesses. Some people rather just lay blame and it is always someone else's fault - be it mine, yours, the government's, the corporation's or - the Communists. Lol.

Maybe it is a mental weakness they can't overcome, but regardless of what happens, we as individuals are the only ones who actually experience our lives and as a result, the only ones who have to deal with it. Just like exercise, if we want to benefit from it, we are the ones who have to take the responsibility of performance.

We can all kill ourselves. We all have the capabilities, but most of us live our whole lives without even an attempt, let alone a successful ending. Why? Why do some see no hope going forward while others go on regardless?

I wonder if the man had jumped the night before, would anything different have happened in the world? Not much perhaps, except for those close to him and his would be soulmate and saviour would never have fallen in love with him. She might have still fallen in love with another though and, never been the wiser.

I think a lot of people live in hope of a better existence, not many spend much thought or time working toward one though. Most prefer to see the world in the way that allows them to feel like they are doing all they can and when negatives happen, it is someone else's fault.

To who's fault is your life ascribed? Do you blame your parents? Do they blame the broken condom? Even on the box they were told that it wasn't 100% effective - But who reads the fine print on a box of condoms.

Randomisation doesn't always have negatives and even an unwanted pregnancy can turn into a fulfilling life. It is up to the child, not the parents - although parents can make this process easier or harder in many ways.

I wonder how many parents have children that they raise with the hope they will suicide? Probably not many. I would say that most parents hope their children will find contentment in activity and someone they can love and be loved by. But then, who knows these days - people are strange.

We have created a very conflicted world as while people want independence, they also crave attention and, they want to belong to a group. Funny isn't it? I am an independent person who does what I want, just like all these people identical to me, doing as I do. The road map for polarization and therefore, control.

I prefer random. Random means it can't be controlled, can't be predicted, can always surprise. No matter how random an event may be, there will always be people who will find someone or something to blame and therefore, take it as a personal attack. Funny how people never feel attacked by good fortune though.

If some rabdom person says they dislike what you are wearing, you will discount their opinion and say, "what do you know, I'll wear what I want". If they say they like what you are wearing, you will thank them. If you don't believe people's judgement when they disagree with you, you shouldn't believe them when they agree either.

I don't care much of other people's judgement of me. I don't care much if they think I am crazy or ugly or stupid. It is funny how many people have such an ego that they believe what they say means something to everyone - delusions of grandeur.

For me, I write and talk, comment and do as I do. If people benefit, that is their fault.

I wonder if the man had jumped, the cold water would have woken him up. Sometimes, it is too late though.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(looks like a sleepless night ahead)

Sort:  

You could look at this and say it was fate. Everyday we make choices and decisions that will change how our life plays out. I don't care what others think of what I do as it is you that has to be happy at the end of the day.

Living with the choices is the hardest part which might be why so many let others decide for them so, they have someone to blame.

Incredible story friend @tarazkp, but I must wait a little longer to analyze them, Happy evening ... apparently there are many things that change and others do not, for a simple gesture of life.

It was a strange experience to hear it from him.

Surreal picture fits this surreal story. Today I listen to the Love Your Work podcast conversation where they talked about randomization: if for a second or two all the cars in a town would stop and then start moving again, consequently peoples actions will be a little changed to the degree that even during sex a different spermatozoid would fertilize the egg and people with different qualities would be born. Butterfly effect.

Posted using Partiko Android

And that difference in person born - are they a Gandhi or a Hitler, the holder of the cure for cancer, or the carrier of a new disease? It is impossible to know.

And this continues without end today and in the future as well it was so in the past going all the way back to the Big Bang...

Posted using Partiko Android

"If you don't believe people's judgement when they disagree with you, you shouldn't believe them when they agree either." Exactly, that's why I don't take people compliments seriously either.

Posted using Partiko Android

that's why I don't take people compliments seriously either.

I am not very good at taking compliments for much the same reason. I do try to accept them as compliments though as I want to encourage people to give their opinions good and bad. I think many people miss Real positive feedback these days and focus too heavily on the negative.

Interesting story. It is funny how our lives can turn on a single event sometimes. Astrology says that different people have different levels of randomness vs. fate in their lives, depending on how their planets are arranged in their chart. Mine is balanced about 50-50. Seems about right.

50/50 - fate? ;D

There are so many unknowable aspects about us that even to ourselves, our actions are unpredictable at times. I wish I was born with more good luck, but I seem to have more of the, live through adversity drive than many.

While pleasant things have happened to me randomly, I prefer the carefully planned, structured and detailed. Unpredictable isn't for the fainthearted

I ma not a good enough planner, so even my plans are unpredictable most of the time. :)

Although I do not believe that events in the universe are actually random, I do see that it can appear so from our finite perspective. I was looking for contact info for a musician I wished to work with when I found their music posted on a BAD example of how to post on Steemit ... but I decided to stay! From a purely human perspective, that was completely random!

Although I do not believe that events in the universe are actually random, I do see that it can appear so from our finite perspective

Whenever there is a perspective, it is always limited so regardless of whether actually random or not, it is always going to appear so to something within the system itself as to be within, is to have perspective.

The random connections we have lead us to all kinds of places we might never choose ourselves.

True -- we can only look at life from our angle, never at the whole picture.

Life is all about choices. He could have chosen to jump. He chose not to. I enjoyed reading this. Thank you for sharing. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Life is all about choices.

And living with the choices we make.

So true. And amazing how we choose the same wrong choices time after time. The human race... Is kind of special at times.

Posted using Partiko Android

You got a 35.72% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tarazkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 25 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62892.68
ETH 2581.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73