Hand in hand - Monochrome Monday

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

My wife called just before, she has been gone since Sunday morning, her first night away from our daughter. I put her on speaker phone and my daughters face lit up immediately with her arms flailing about in the air as she squealed. I made a video call and she babbled excitedly at the image of her mother.

It is interesting that all of yesterday, last night and today our daughter has been fine without her mother, no worries at all spending a couple of days with her dad. The first sound of her mother's voice and she lights up like a Christmas tree.

After the call, I think she was expecting to see her mother straight away and was disappointed, no tears, but a little whiny. We read her favourite books, Are you my mother? by P.D Eastman and she went back to playing before her midday nap.

The connections children make with their parents are obviously among the strongest in their lives but, I think we underestimate their ability to be in the moment and enjoy what they have right now too. It is only when the memory of a missing parent comes that the longing starts.

Many parents feel guilty for leaving their children for a little while, but children probably learn a lot from the space of an absent parent too. Perhaps, as long as it is not made to feel as if a missing parent is a negative thing, children won't accept it as fact and make it one.

This is a photo from Saturday on a road trip.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

Love the sky in this one!

Awesome photo, the ruins there are a really charged backdrop.

Beautiful photo and great post! :)

OMG that brings back some memories! My daughter loved that book....many years ago.
Thanks for sharing in the #monochromemonday tag!!!! :)

You are most welcome.

My daughter seems to have picked up good taste. She chooses her own books to have read and her favourites are Eastman and Seuss books by far. The new books she doesn't seem interested in.

Very nice photo ful of symbols @tarazkp. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Thanks a lot :)

Great family. Love what you're saying. Awesome. Interesting. Love photos. Thanks for sharing. Upvoted. Resteemed.

Thank you, it is appreciated.

It is only when the memory of a missing parent comes that the longing starts.- Very beautiful written. That sentence is so true. It fits to every person you lose in your life! Thank you for this great post! :)

Thank you and you are welcome. Visit anytime.

It was so hard to leave and I missed her already when I closed the door. But I'm happy to know that she is not missing me that much when I'm away. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59325.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41