Failed? No, it's Art!

in #photography6 years ago

Well, that sucked. Stupid long northern summer days. The moon rose but I couldn't see it for over two hours because of the light in the sky. I sat perched on a loose rock clutching my camera bag all of that time trying to remember if I had insured my camera in case I slipped and fell in.

NOT ONE of the following shots are from that position...

Since my equipment is not up for such a task, I decided I would try to get a little creative and take some interesting shots instead of good shots. I was shooting in RAW (washed out colours) and haven't edited other than straightened and converted to JPEG. I had to use the Windows photos app which crushed them down but, you'll get the idea.

They aren't great photos but hopefully they are better than all of the people who stood there taking photos on their phones. I am guessing Facebook is going to be a wheat silo (Filled with grainy pictures) with people saying "Look how beautiful the blood moon is!" with a picture that has about 16 pixels in total. If you are wondering, the light square will represent the moon.

Ok, here are some shots from the night and I guess considering I was leaning the camera on my bag and hoping for a steady shot, they aren't all that bad.

Regardless of whether the shots come out or not, it is nice to be out with the camera when the weather looks like this:

24 degrees, warm air, a nice breeze that kept the mosquitoes somewhat at bay and lake water lapping near the feet. Did anyone get any good photos of the blood moon tonight (besides @trumpman)?

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

I couldn't really see it all that well because it became rather cloudy at that moment.

I love the shot of the motorcycle with the blood moon at the back. Is it your bike?

It looks decent enough. Am sure it'll have turned out great from any camera or angle

I'd take an "interesting" shot over a "good" one. Personality. You can just google for a professional one, but I'm sure as a photographer there is that thrill of having done it yourself. They look nice to me, and certainly better than my North American view.

Looks pretty good to me... you got some of the reddish tone. We're pretty much on the wrong side of the planet to see the eclipse, so I'm just enjoying other people's photos.

Those turned out pretty good, all things considered :) Our moon in Mexico at the moment is all white; I've been waiting!

It’s fun to try anyway ‘eh!?

Yeah it is, I enjoy it even if I don't get much decent out of it. This is out of the range of my equipment and my skills.

I might attempt some photos tonight but our totality will only be a whole two minutes here in Missouri not to mention my view of the east will make it difficult!!

These are awesome, I particularly like the second one. I recall the moon last night, didn’t look like that! It’s fascinating to see the difference from another part of the world. Will be staying away from the silo though.

These are awesome, I particularly like the second one.

It was the only thing close that was high enough to get into the picture. It is a crane to lift boats from the water :)

Aah would never have guessed that in a million years. Could have said it was the scaffolding for an obelisk and I would have believed you haha. Nevertheless it’s beautiful.

You got some decent color. Think it needed more blood as it was a mild orange pink from my shots.

All the blood was used up in the markets.

You know I had plans to score more, and the little decline from the rejected ETF -- supposedly --already bounced back! I was ticked it rebounded in a day.

I missed it. I'm sorry you didn't get any "good" shots. Your creative and interesting shots seem to have turned out well though.

Don't you just hate it when you can't remember if you actually got something insured? Ha ha. At least you didn't have an incident.

I am pretty sure I am covered but still, it would be a hassle to replace.

Yeah, any time you have to deal with insurance it's a pain. Most of the time it's more pain than it's worth... unless you have really high-end equipment. Sometimes the deductible can be cost-prohibitive.

Well done. Amazing pictures!

I got a great shot of a giant grey cloud, with a slightly red tinge, like a toasted marshmellow.

So no, total fail!

“Nothing is certain in London but expense.” (William Shenstone, 1743).

:) regardless of the pics, it is fun to try. Soon we will be entering Northern lights chasing season. Yet to get a good shot of them. One day.

1743? really?

Yep. Shenstone was a British poet, who died in 1763, with an ability to phrase quotes that suggest, comfortingly maybe, or maybe not, that nothing ever really changes.

Here's one: "A liar begins with making falsehood appear like truth, and ends with making truth itself appear like falsehood."

I am going to try again for the blood moon in January next year. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64308.31
ETH 2810.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65