Early morning silence as a city sleeps

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

For a year or two, my wife worked in Helsinki and had to commute the 170 kilometres by train which meant getting to the station before 6 am. So, 430 wake-ups became the new norm. I have mentioned before that I am a night owl but there are benefits to changing the rhythm.

One of these is silent time before the city wakes up and on the days where the rain held off, I would spend a few minutes enjoying some section of the city along the route from the station. Once home, I would walk the dog, do a micro 20 minute workout and then get ready for my own work day. This was pretty much the routine until my wife went on maternity leave.

Another benefit of getting up early prepared me for all of the early mornings with the baby. My nightowl-ness had me covered for all of the late night already.

The 'smoke' from the factory is steam rising from the paper mill that still operates in the heart of the city. When it is cold, it looks a bit like a large part of the city is on fire as it condenses in the air. The last two shots are taken with a very cheap fish-eye lenscap lens. It is about as simple as you can get and is set at f8 only. A little bit of a useless but fun to play with for an amateur.

Cities in the morning light, devoid of people are beautiful to behold and there is something magical to be a part of it.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

Yes a baby can sure change your routine

I to love early mornings there is something special about the light in early morning ands it's great not many others are out at that time

Great shots so beautiful

Awesome capture, I really liked the composition. Thank you for sharing with us.

Ah yep, very early morning is my favourite time of day! It's like everything has been cleaned.. the air is so fresh and everything is so quiet. Lovely. :) Followed!

Amazing photos that really capture that wonderful early morning stillness of a city not yet awake. I love that time, it's such a surreal feeling.
The reflections are so beautiful, and colours of the lights are so peaceful and calming. Stunning. They would look so good blown up into very large size and put on the wall.

You gave an excellent reason to every photographer to become an “early bird” @tarazkp. A lot of beautiful “photo-worms” are waiting early in the morning. Upvoted, resteemed & DPS.

Hey @tarazkp, those Pictures of yours are amazing. I wish I could shoot some like this :)

Yes, you are right about that quiet time. These are so evocative. Lovely. Resteemed :)

It was worth to wake up so early in the morning! ;)


Tag your photography with #ph1 to be featured, resteemed and upvoted! Click for More info.

Please, upvote this comment and my posts so my upvotes will be more powerful!

Excellent post .. follow me. Regards !!!! @tarazkp

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64071.08
ETH 2763.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66