bwphotocontest Entry 3 - SkyStream

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

A land of lakes and forests, Finland is perfect for anyone that wants to be alone and contemplate life. Finns do this all the time. The being alone, maybe not the contemplating life. Mostly, they drink.

Kalsarikännit is a term they have for being at home alone drinking. It means, 'drunk in only underpants'. Alcohol appears heavily in much of Finnish culture and is the centrepiece for most celebrations. Today, it is the midsummer day celebrations and even though the weather is not great, there will be plenty of people out in their boats.

Every year, there is a death toll count for those that drowned. The normal reason is they urinated over the side and fell but were too drunk to pull themselves back into the boat. Literally, drowning in their own piss. Why don't they use vests? Real men don't of course.

The Finnish government has pretended to try and help the situation by raising taxes and centralising liquor sales to a monopolised government store. It has of course has only made the problem worse over the years as restricting supply makes demand higher, but the tax revenues are good.

Perhaps, instead of getting underwear drunk, they spent some time contemplating a little by the lake, they would reach a better solution.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

Beautiful landscape

Nice photo! And funny story! :)

:) cheers. It is strange when an Australian thinks people drink too much :D

Woah, this is just amazing! :O I would love to come to Finland, it is also the land of World Rally Championship, and I'm a big time fan! :D

Feel free to check mine as well, thank you for sharing :)

Nice bit of writing as well as the good photograph. Did you crop the photo this way or shot with a special kind of camera?

It is taken with an Olympus EM-1. I trimmed the edges down slightly but not much.

Ah I see! The Micro Four thirds sensor has a more square format wich is really nice for such photography. See you around mate!

Yes, it does and is also small enough to travel easily. I moved from Canon. Enjoy the weekend.

Same as me, I kept my Nikon gear only for professional work. Man it's such a bummer once you have to go back to a camera with more weight and no incredible image stabilization! Have a good weekend yourself!

Great photo! And equally awesome story! I've met a few Finnish people in my life, and they are indeed big drinkers, luckily whenever I met one, we weren't by a lake, so the worst they can do is fell into a toilet bowl lol! Upvoted and followed! Check out some of my work as well, I'm a photographer too :)

It is the only way you can get them to talk. Thanks for the support, will check your blog out too.

That's quite true haha. I always support great work, they deserve the support. And thank you! :)

Nice photo and crazy story! Thanks for teaching me something new today! Which is; Don't get drunk and pee off of a boat

I am all about community service :)

Great shot ,keep it upzl 🙂

This is beautiful! You did a great job.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56775.06
ETH 2345.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36