bwphotocontest Entry 2 - SkyHalo

in #photography7 years ago

If heaven existed perhaps this is how the sun would always shine. The problem is, it was -23 on this day which doesn't seem like heavenly, eternal weather. For me, I don't mind the cold but dislike very hot, my wife hates the cold and likes it hot. Since it is perfect there in heaven, does that mean we won't be able to spend time together, have our own personal temperature gauge or, will we be manipulated to not feeling a thing? Lord knows! Literally. Well, if something like that could actually be said literally.

When it gets cold enough for ice crystals to fall, sun dogs are possible though and create mini suns either side of the main sun at the same height. they also make short rainbows refracted in the crystals. This was the first day I had seen them like this, January 6th, the Epiphany. This is a shot across the frozen lake at the ridge beyond. Quite a desolate scene but it was a lovely day for a walk, a short walk for the dogs paws got cold very quickly.

[Olympus EM-1 | 12-40mm 2.8 | f3.2 | ISO200 | 1/8000 ]

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

Nice one! What a bizzar effect, visually it seems like the sun is shining down on earth in a focused beam!

It is strange, when I saw it, my wife was like 'yeah, pretty common'. If aliens dropped down and asked her directions to Mars, she'd probably not be impressed, more likely annoyed by the interruption ;)

Hahaha! I think the aliens would be impressed! :)

..nice photo..

Fantastic photo @tarazkp! I love pictures of sun dogs and would love to see one for myself!

Hope you are doing well my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67271.13
ETH 3515.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70