BW Photo Contest - Travel - Entry 3 - Stand your ground

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Finland is a small country. It has over 5 million people but everyone knows everybody. Over the years, I have been surprised at the connections to people that seem to exist and there really aren't too many degrees of separation to include the entire country.

Yesterday, I wrote a post about a knife attack and how I couldn't get hold of my friend and how thankfully, she is okay. Today however, I found out that one of the victims was my niece's friend's sister. It really is a small country. My niece and her boyfriend drove their friend to her parent's today.

Should this type of event and its proximity scare us? No. Should it make us stay aware and learn what we can to protect ourselves? Absolutely. I have written about violence a little lately and although not a pet topic of mine, it is important none the less. I am not always going to write about physical violence however, there area many other forms. I have a feeling though, that the different forms of violence often come together and lead into the physical forms. I will continue this topic occasionally.

This picture is from Milan and the Duomo. To me, it represents standing one's ground in turmoil and tells a story of an individual who must take the weight of chaos upon his shoulders and bear the burden of responsibility. The crowd below look to him to assume the role of protector while the cathedral stands silently and helplessly watching. This is a photo that connects with me on several different levels.

[ Olympus EM-1 | 1/1600s | ISO640 | 9mm manual cap lens ]

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

I absolutely love this photo/post! in so many levels!

Stunning! thanks for sharing

Thank you @tarazkp :)

Happy Steeming & Much Love!

All love and due respect!
I am said, Iam from Casablanca, Morocco

I am a Moslem, I am not a terrorist!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55030.03
ETH 2337.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32