BW Photo Contest - Street - Entry 2 - Black and white and red

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Since the sun has failed most of the summer in Finland, I am going to try and bring it in for @daveks' B&W photo contest from other places. This one is from Amsterdam.

Amsterdam is quite a colourful city and is often associated with the colour red. We walked through the district whilst there and my wife was a little shocked by it. I find the idea very strange. In some ways it felt like a future dystopia where people must do whatever it takes to survive. But then, that is pretty much life now isn't it?

I don't know much about prostitution as it is not my area at all and I don't ever plan on getting personally acquainted. Any form of slavery should be destroyed and I see this as slavery by situation. It may be different if a person chooses this life but then, unless felt forced by circumstance, how many would actually choose it? In some ways it may be like an athlete who sells their body as a sporting tool but again, there is quite a difference in action. I haven't heard of many millionaires contemplating prostitution as their next career path.

I can understand people doing what they think they must to survive, but the clients are the ones I don't really understand. It seems like negotiating the price on someone's misery. Taking advantage of someone that feels they have very limited options by making them do something that they wouldn't do in different circumstances, if free. Free of debts especially. Perhaps this is why so many politicians end up being caught with prostitutes, this is what many of them do daily for work anyway.

Not my area, just a few thoughts.

[ f4 | ISO500 | @18mm ]

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59231.42
ETH 2599.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45