Black and white is better

in #photography4 years ago

We live in a world of gradation as very few things are clear cut however, sometimes it is better for illustrative purposes to present the Black and the White view to contrast the differences in points. This often gets criticised as it sets up a false dichotomy and just everyone will be able to find exceptions that break the rule. I see this as a fitting of experience to theory, not necessarily disproving the extremes.

But when it comes to photography, sometimes black and white is just better. I love B and W. Here are two examples from Amsterdam, first the monochrome and then the colour. Slight enhancements and adjustments have been made but, nothing major. I adjusted the colour a little (straightening, sharpness etc) and then just switched to 'black and white' to be fair.

for me, the emotion and moment are better captured in the black and white as taking out the colour detail puts all detail on a level playing field and allows the audience to find what interests them rather than being attracted to colours. Of course, there are still the highlight points like the setting sun and the elongated shadows that pull attention but, back and white somehow makes it more honest and pure.

My catalogue is full of black and whites and even though the coloured originals may be okay, the level playing field is where my heart lays. Once upon a time I was considering starting an alt account with just black and white photos of mine but I realised at the time I would likely still add too many words and kill it :)

Taraz
[ an original ]

Sort:  

You are not alone, I am one B&W freak. I don't know why but they really connect to me in some deep level where the colorful ones can't fully hit.

There is an emotion in it that can't be found in color-

I can't agree with you more enthusiastically! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13