A shot from the bushes

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I am grateful for many things and one of those is having the chance to travel occasionally and see some pretty wonderful places. Some are places I have seen in books and movies and dreamed about one day having the chance to stand in their shadows. A tall order for an Australian.

The list is endless of course, but I have managed to get to a few of the European ones and count myself very lucky. Don't misunderstand though, it hasn't been easy to make these trips as money has always been tight and I don't come from people with deep pockets. At times, I am not sure my parents had pockets at all.

So, when I travel I do not take my time for granted. I want to spend as much time as possible exploring the surroundings and I am willing to walk crazy distances to do so. Our 5 days in St Petersburg covered 120 kilometers.

I also take my camera along of course and will spend additional time soaking in the atmosphere through a viewfinder too. Capturing it in the lens also has the tendency to catch it in my mind. My memory is poor by traditional measures but excellent in others.

A saw a picture I took that reminded me of another and then another. It is funny how habit or style plays a role in how someone frames their shots. Here are three examples of a 'style'. I didn't realise I do this commonly. I have more around the place similar.

When it comes to landmarks, I do take the usual suspect shots too but try to also capture it in a different way, 'my way'. It is quite easy to do, look for where everyone else is taking photos from and then go somewhere else. It is more interesting to look at the landmark in this way as it requires discovery and trial and error. For me anyway.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Some examples

La Sagrada Familia - Barcelona (2012)

The Eiffel tower - Paris (2013)

Church of the Saviour on Spilled Blood - St Petersburg (2015)

Sort:  

Very impressive! Beautifully focuses your gaze.

Thank you Doc and welcome back.

I thought I had offended you. No worries!

Not at all. I have think skin and patience for vengeance :D

Wow.. AMAZING PHOTOS.... UPVOTED AND RESTEEMED

Thank you very much. Your support is much appreciated.

you are very welcome!!!!!!!!!

This perspective gives those buildings another feel. Like you are standing in the lush backyard where you sneaked in. Don't know how to describe it.
Excellent photo's Thank you.

I think the same. Something secretive and voyeuristic about it. I don't do this with people ;)

Yes those are words that fit. :)
But when they give you permission in front and afterward, I would think it would be o.k. You see it is sometimes used in wedding photos for instance.
It can express a lot of things also innocence, or spontaneity and so on.

Fantastic architecture, oh I would just love to visit these places. At least I can travel there through your excellent photos.

Yes, all are impressively built and all very different. Who knows, perhaps the chance will come. I never thought it possible for me.

OMG not only are your subjects incredible the angle of which you took them are amazing, great!

Thank you very much

The Barcelona shot is amazing! A wonderfully natural frame within a frame. Would be great as a massive print.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05