A little love of Lake Como

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

There is a reason the stars own homes and holiday at Lake Como, it is gorgeous. Only having a day to spend, we arrived by train from Milan and made the short walk down the hill to the gorgeous little town of Varenna. Our plan was actually to go across Bellagio but the ferry times meant we had to wait.

It was early, and very little was open when we arrived. There was not a tourist in sight, the narrow streets were empty save the locals carrying a newspaper and coffee or the shop workers setting up for the day. I am glad we were there at this time as we got to see a slice of serenity before the day trippers descended.

The town itself is full of colourful stucco homes and is dominated by the towering spire of the church. The day was shaping up to be a hot one and the moisture from the lake cast a soft filter over the dominating mountains either side. I am not sure what it would be like to be here in the winter, but spending the summer lazing by the banks would be heaven for most.

The lake was calm at this time in the morning and all of the elements worked together for some lovely compositions. The colour of the buildings, the layered silhouettes of the mountains, the reflections of the water and the atmosphere from the humidity that hung in the air. A very enjoyable shooting time indeed.

In many popular tourist areas, the locals can get somewhat annoyed by the constant pressures of the thousands upon thousands that flock to their homes. At this time of the morning though, the locals seemed relaxed, perhaps conserving energy for the throng when it comes.

Even the shopkeepers were friendly and accomodating. During this early time of day, it felt like we were not the average tourists but a curiosity, unexpected guests. This was the last day of our Honeymoon, what a place to end it and start the rest of our lives.

Since these days walking hand in hand through Italy, a lot has happened, with the biggest being the birth of our daughter. She was born almost a year after our honeymoon, the day before our wedding anniversary. It means that it is going to be some time before we can celebrate our anniversary just the two of us, instead it'll be just the three of us. I don't mind that at all.

One day, we will take the early train, travel down the hill to Varenna and walk the quiet morning streets all over. Then however, we won't be hand in hand with each other, we will be separated by the little hands we hold between. The hands that will forever connect us.

When the ferry came, the conductor shouted 'Bellagio! Bellagio! Only Bellagio!' And we stepped away from Varenna. Remember @momone?

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

Very beautiful. Looks like a nice place to rent for a few months and enjoy the scenery.

It would be great I think. I wonder how easy/expensive it is?

Looks expensive. Might need steem to go up to $10 before Id consider it. Stunning though and looks peaceful.

Utterly beautiful photos! Upvote from me for sure, although my voting power is down and seems not to recover anymore! Resteeming as well! Have a wonderful day, my friend!

Thank you as always. I use mine fast too :D

Awww I used to go as a child, Lake Como was one of my dear Nana's favourite of places. I am half Italian, truly chopped down the middle, I have one Brown Eye and One Blue.
Your post has made me realise it has been way too long since not going, I think a trip is in order!!
Thank you for such a lovely post, it brought back memories.🕉😍

How cool is that? The unique things about people are awesome.

I am glad that the post stirred your memories. I look forward to seeing pics from your next trip.

Yeah it has been pretty cool, I used to get people ask on the tube, if I had lost a contact lens and I used to say "no I am from the planet Zob"haha!
Yeah another one going on my list of must go!

I know that list. It gets long fast.

I know that one, it's already as long as my arm.😎

I love lake Como, it's beautiful!

These photos are beautiful! Upvoted and followed :) I'm new and have just started a travel photography page, feel free to take a look

Como lake.. the place where Mussolini was hunt down and killed by MI16 so he cannot speak about secret correspondence with Churchill during the World War 2.

Lake and houses like a fairy tale!

Definitely. A gorgeous place.

Nice pics and place! Followed!(;

Thanks, it is much appreciated :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63177.41
ETH 2439.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58