A little blue

in #photography6 years ago

For quite some time I have wanted to play around with some portrait type photography. My only model is largely unwilling but last night I took a few pics of her wearing a top I got her for Christmas.

I only have one flash and every wall in our house is white so the options are limited or, my imagination in this area is. I am hoping that I can practice more and experiment with the editing a little every week or two.

Now though, it is off to Christmas meal number 3.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]
(posted from phone)

Sort:  

No actually the options arent limited. All you need is a white wall to be creative. Even black and white photos will come out amazing with that white wall. You can take photos of humans, pets and even candles in front of it and play with the colors. I guess I will see a lot of productivity from your side in 2019 :D Marry Christmas!

I would like to see what I can get without editing too much (I am bad at editing) so it would be nice to have more of interest in the picture too :)

Then start with black and white and see what you can do :)

Great way of beginning with a flash and editting! You can also use some black cardboard/paper to setup around your model so you can block bouncing light and you can aim your flash from direction to create some drama. Or get your model away from the wall. Lot of things are possible. Or create your own ringlight?

If your model doesn’t want to play model you can always go selfportrait mode😎

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for the tips. I will fashion a homemade snoot for some direction too, just to see if it is worth buying one :)

A white background is ideal in portrait photography. That all studios use a white background is no co-incidence.

Posted using Partiko Android

The white is good for lots of things but I am wondering how boring it will get :D

As long as the subject is not boring it should do. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

well, that is the other challenge I face. ;D

Oh! Loved the first one. At a glance first I thought it was a stoke photo.
Go ahead in your photography aim.

Posted using Partiko Android

Funny, cause none of the walls in my house are white, so it's hard to get even remotely serious photos ;) Lovely pictures and have fun with your meal!!

I would like a bit more drama. White walls seem to look like magazine photos :D

But more professional also! :D maybe keep a few white walls and paint the rest in some crazy colors?

When we renovated this place the rule was the whitest paint possible. The colour is called "lumi" (snow) and is the whitest paint available in Finland :D

ah see and now you complain :P I think it looks great, really.

I didn't think it through at the time it seems.

It was funny though. It was a really sunny summer day and we started painting and after the first half of the first wall, we almost needed sunglasses :D

Ha, I did think it looked abnormally with sometimes (in your photos) but I figured it might be Photoshopped or something...:))

Oh and bon apetit with dinner number three😎👍

Posted using Partiko iOS

I need to go to the gym.

your words not mine 🤣

You are definitely a person with many talents my friend! Thanks for sharing!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It is mostly just bumbling around and getting lucky. That is how I met my wife too! ;D

Merry Christmas!
It seems to me that when the background is white, the photographs come out better, if they are portraits. The top is nice ... it combines with the eyes of your wife. :)

For portraits the white is good but it is different perhaps since I only have one model :D

I picked it for her eyes. =)

Aww why is she largely unwilling? The blue works well on the white wall :)

Yeah, she doesn't want me taking pictures of her very often. she likes having the results, but not the getting them.

It's a nice start. Doing that a few times per week you will become a pro.
Thanks for sharing.
Cheers!

I'd be happy to just have some decent photos of me one day :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56248.57
ETH 2324.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34