ALL STARS FESTIVAL | Portrait Photography

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

ALL STARS 2013 | Somewhere in the Wilds of Ontario, Canada


A little while back... I went to a little mostly psytrance but not entirely gathering... surprisingly few people showed up, it was kind of unfortunate because the organizers had clearly put a lot of time into the affair! Nonetheless, I had a great time and so did those that did show up... I have a few more photos, including one with myself - I may make a 'part two' but I made the mistake of unplugging my hard-drive for a moment - I shut the lid to my laptop to move it and assumed it would be okay if it was sleeping, but no - when I opened the lid, I got a message from MacOS saying "disk removed without being ejected properly" or whatever it says and Lightroom being like "Woah man, we encountered an error, and gotta quit!" Since then, my hard disk with photos isn't mounting... just sitting there, seems like it's doing something, I'm just going to leave it for now and hope that it does what it needs to do and hopefully, get my hard drive back.







For some of these photos, I used a shoot-through umbrella with a Canon Speedlight (580 EX II) triggered by Pocketwizard Plus X... With this type of trigger, you can only tell the Speedlight when to fire, not at what intensity... but I find somehow, there's a lot of leeway - generally having my speedlight at 1/4 power seems to get the job done, with digital cameras of course it's really easy to see right away if you're getting the effect you're wanting or not! The only thing is that carrying around a lightstand with a speedlight, umbrella, etc. as well as the camera gets to be a bit much, but the results are always worth it!

I moaned about how photography requires so much stuff and investment and someone quickly corrected me that any endeavor requires investment - like an artist is going to have to require brushes, paper, easels or whatnot... and yeah it's a lot of stuff that costs a lot of money. But then you can use that stuff to also make money - if you know what you are doing at least...

I posted two blurry and not in focus but I think they captured the mood anyways. Hope that disk comes back, something seems kinda strange here...

Nice little gathering. Hope that they'll do another one... It's always fun to get out of the house!!! 🤓


Check out some of my recent photography posts:


Thanks for poppin' by! HAVE A SWEET TIME!!!!😄

Sort:  

Stars are uncountable, they are twinkling in the sky at night silently,one of those that you are.thanks

Thank you. You as well. 🌌

You got a plankton sized upvote from @worksinsane because your post appeared in the We Curate quality post search tool. It is a web art thingy thing that searches posts which fulfill predetermined rules. Upvoting isn't automated, @worksinsane reads posts before upvoting.

For more information read the latest post: https://steemit.com/wecurate/@worksinsane/we-curate-7

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-27T09:53:33
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 52.00/100.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You got a 26.00% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @synrg!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

This post has received a 13.49 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61869.35
ETH 2414.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63