A View of St. Louis Zoo - Part 1: Birds, Butterflies and Beautiful Flowers

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

The St. Louis Zoo was named as the nations Best Free Attraction last year by USA Today. I got to spend some time up there today and this is the first of a series showing some of the best shots I got while there.

A View of the St. Louis Zoo: Part 1

Butterfly House

These shots were in the Zoo's butterfly house. While being very pretty, this didn't quite compare to the one maintained by the Missouri Botanical Garden in Chesterfield, MO which as way more butterflies and flowers. You can see my posts from this one here, here, and here.

I was only able to get pictures of a few butterflies but I really liked some of the macro flower shots!














Cypress Swamp and the 1904 Flight Cage

The Saint Louis Zoo traces its origins to the 1904 World’s Fair and in 2004 commemorated the centennial of the Fair with this dramatic new transformation of the 1904 Flight Cage.

When I was young I remember this area being filled with birds that flew all around. Since then it was converted into a swampy habitat with artistic pieces, pools, cypress trees and water birds which allowed it to be kept open year round.














Since this image didn't come out too well, I at least wanted to show that there are BLACK SWANS there. With all the discussions here about black swan events I just had to include it.

I still have plenty more to share including polar bears, big cats, primates, insects, reptiles, lemurs and PENGUINS!!

[Note: If anyone wants the full size shots from any of these just let me know and I can post links in the comments for you.]


Don't Miss the Show! Follow the Steemit Talk Podcast (STP) Account

New STP Website!!

Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers? - Try https://www.steemithelp.net.




Image Sources:
All images were taken by me using a Samsung Galaxy S6 cell phone.


















Sort:  

Fab pictures look forward to the next instalment :)

Thank you!
It was a really fun day up there with fantastic weather. There were just too many good pics to get into a single post. I was rather sad that I wasn't able to get a good shot of the black swan...just so fitting for steemit, Lol. That's a must next time I'm up there. :)

Looks a great day out, to will have to make another trip just to get the black Swan, Ill keep an eye out for the next post to this. :)

Here's a sneak peak of one of my favorites from the trip! I caught the polar bear at the perfect moment after he hopped out of the pool and was shaking off.
Shhh, don't tell anyone! Lol.

Oh wow that's amazing, such a beautiful picture, I love it :)

I love the art, and the butterflies!

Thank you!
I thought it was funny that the art more impressive than the animals at the Cypress Swamp area. At least most the others parts of the zoo has mostly animals from here on out.

But I had to get a shot of the train that goes throughout the zoo.

Lol they always have those little trains:)

Hehe, yes they do!
I remember riding that thing when I was a kid. It seemed so much bigger back then. :P

Folks from St. Louis sure like their Zoo. When I visited my grandparents and cousins, we went there a lot. My mom in Arkansas was just saying yesterday how much she liked the St. Louis Zoo.Your picture of the red flower, like a starburst, should be in the PhotoChallenge. It's really nice!

It really it a great place to visit and free to boot! They've got a lot of constuction going on there right now (not sure what their adding/revamping) but one awesome thing that was added since I'd last been there was the new polar bear area. It's got huge windows on a few sides, with pools going partway up. We got to see the bear jump in, make huge splashes and swim around...pretty sweet.

Ah, good call on the PhotoChallenge...it hadn't even crossed my mind. I've never submitted anything to that, but I'll go get that in.

That's great about the Polar Bear exhibit being upgraded. Those bears will be a lot happier in that St. Louis heat and humidity. Now they just need one for the people outside, lol.

Hehe, they kind of do have those with spritzing cooldown stations for people, but they weren't on/needed when I was there. Nice upgrades for multiple species! :P

haha -- I hope they put those spritz stations where the animals can watch the people being like them in the water, lol! : )

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.77 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 18 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Nice zoo, beautiful flowers!

Thank you!
It's a fun place. I felt a little bad getting more flower and art shots versus butterflies and birds in those areas. Lol

I hope to get back there soon...there were some areas I didn't get to make it to...off the top of head the seals and giraffes. :)

You're welcome! That's really great! I look forward to your new photos of the zoo with interest! :)

I know I've got at least one more post that will be put out tomorrow showing off the penguins and puffins. I took a lot of pictures, lol.

I did get part 2 posted here earlier today with bears, big cats and lemurs if you are in the mood for some more animal pics. :)

Really! I will follow you and see other animals in your blog! Thanks a lot for sharing! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59179.00
ETH 2969.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75